Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I've made this twice now. Once for my family in which I used a 13x9. I substituted coffee for the liquer due to feeding it to the kids. The second was at a family gathering in which I used a trifle bowl I purchased for this reason. The kids loved it, which shocked me as I have a picky eater. The extended family RAVED about it. It was gone very quickly, and I was told I am not allowed to show up to a gathering without it, ha! The trifle bowl looked beautiful, so not only did it taste great, it made me look like I know what I'm doing. I was asked if I always made "fancy schmancy desserts". Leftovers are great too, the kids liked it better after it sat in the fridge for a couple days, and hubby and I definitely thought it was a great leftover treat. It was gone before I could see how it tasted on day three. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Moulds Blonigen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Great recipe. the cream although i didnt use the Italian cheese but the common substitute was superb.just remember the coffee taste is very strong and bitter so dip the biscuit lightly until its color is light brown,if the color was coffee dark it will be very bitter. trust me that happened to me . the stiffer you want it the more you must whip the whipping cream only,not the finale mixture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dalinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I made this for my boss' birthday today since it's his favorite dessert and it got RAVE reviews. I substituted the cream cheese, sour cream and heavy cream mixture for the mascarpone cheese, and used strong coffee instead of Kahlua and it still came out beautifully. I put mine in a 9" springform pan overnight and when I took the outer ring off this morning it held its shape and looked awesome. I garnished with dark chocolate curls and chocolate covered espresso beans. Such an easy, but impressive looking dessert that gets lots of oohs and aahs! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I was a little concerned about this recipe as most other tiramisu recipes call for at least SOME espresso or strong coffee and not just liqueur. I was able to fit 3 layers into my pan and it seemed as though I had to use more like 1/3 cup of liqueur per layer instead of 1/3 cup for the whole recipe... that being said, the liqueur flavor was very strong. I will make this again, but next time, instead of just liqueur, maybe combine 1/2 cup liqueur and 1/2 cup espresso to brush onto the lady fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Make sure that you added the yolk mixutre to the marscapone first!! I accidentally added the warm yolk mixture to the whipped cream and totally killed it. I used amaretto instead of coffee liqueur, and added some of the amaretto into the cream filling as well. Since I wasn't going to eat it immediately, I froze it instead of refrigerating it, and the tiramisu-ice cream was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
It was my first time making this dish. I used a 9x13 pan, and substituted amaretto for the coffee liquor. I also doubled the amount, since used hard ladyfingers.My co workers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Amazing!! I married into an Italian Family and Tiramisu is my mother in law's signature dessert. I bought a tub of Mascarpone cause it was on sale. I made this recipe, my father in law just started laughing hysterically once he took a bite, then my husband and his brother started to laugh. This recipe beats my MIL's hands down!!! The men just kept their heads down and ate, knowing that I was in trouble cause this was soooo good!!! So, thank you !!! Oh, I used Grand Marnier with the espresso. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is fantastic! I had never had tiramisu and made it for my fiancee, he was amazed by it.. I did take the suggestion from others and used the cream cheese mixture rather than the mascarpone.. Alsom we have been experimenting with flavored coffees..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I made this twice in two days. Both were very popular at the parties. First day, made it on a 9x 11 tray.. but ran out of the cheese mixture on my layers and had to make more. Second day, i made it in a trifle bowl. Had just enough cheese mixture. 1st try- followed the recipe, found too sweet. For the 2nd try, i did this and it was much better (1) use beater at lowest speed when beating egg and sugar over heat (tip from another reviewer) (2) reduce to 3/4 cup of sugar (3) use strong coffee, add 1 tbs of sugar + 2 tbsp of port wine (4) chill bowl & beater in freezer while making cheese mixture (5) add blackberries on the last cheese mix layer, then another cheese mix layer and cocoa powder..The sourness of the blackberries goes well with the sweet tirammisu....Other tips: (6) use small ladyfingers so no splitting required (7) soak for 3seconds in coffee, otherwise it will just fall to pieces (8) the blackberries can be replaced with any berries fruits...Carol, Thanks for the delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I have made several recipes for tiramisu, but this is the best one BY FAR I have ever made. I like the fact that this one is sweeter than the others, plus I like the fact that you cook the egg...makes it just a little bit safer in my viewpoint. I did not have mascarpone cheese, so used the cream cheese/sour cream/whipping cream substitute used by LGIORGI on that review. Since my ladyfingers were hard, I made around 1 1/2 cups of strong coffee with a little Kahlua, soaking each ladyfinger for just a few seconds. If you use this method, do not soak too long or the ladyfingers will fall apart. Everything came out perfect. I impressed the heck out of my guests! :D Wonderful, wonderful recipe, which I will definitely make again, probably over the holidays. Thank you VERY MUCH for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States