Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
A wonderful recipe! Much easier than I expected. It also gave me a reason to buy a double boiler ..... I had never invested in one before. So now I not only have a great recipe, but my kitchen is also more complete. Make this yummy treat for someone you love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
Great dessert!! I served this to 10 people I had for dinner and they loved it!! Don't get sticker shock from the price of the mascarpone cheese though--it is a little pricey but well worth it..I made it in a springform pan; it was a little hard to keep the servings intact but still tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
ARE YOU KIDDING ME???? This was incredible, my family didn't even believe that I made it. I don't own a double boiler so I just used a stainless steel mixing bowl over a pot of boiling water. I used a 10-inch springform pan and lined the bottom first, then the sides with upright cookie halves. Instead of all Kahlua, I also mixed in some espresso for a more authentic flavor--and instead of brushing, I rolled each cookie in the mixture--BUT NOT TOO MUCH, or it'll turn to mush! Just a quick roll in the liquid. This was absolutely fantastic! It looked like a work of art when I took it out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This recipe was beyond great! I made it in a bowl for a school meeting and everyone raved. I used strong coffee mixed with 1 - 2 TBSP. of rum to LIGHTLY dip one side of the cookies in(I didn't have any Kahlua on hand). Only one correction though. At least with the ladyfingers in my store, the recipe should call for two 3 ounce packages of ladyfingers with 12 cookies in each package. NOT two 12 ounce packages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
What a wonderful tiramisu! Everyone I've made this for raves about it, with the exception of my kid who doesn't like coffee flavored anything. I use a clear glass salad bowl to make it, which works just fine. This is our new, favorite dessert, always requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2001
Fabulously rich and tasty! Great for impressing guests! Ended up with way too much mascarpone mix, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
OK so theres a reason this recipe is listed first. It is absolutely FAB and I am a tiramisu snob! We made this in a glass bowl and used regular marscapone instead of that foul tiramusu flavored marscapone..ick! We added some chocolate milk powder to the instant espresso powder and made a sort of "mocha" to dip the lady fingers in. (my kids loved that part) The cheese/egg mixture was so incredibly fluffy and custardlike it was unreal. After assembling the dessert we mixed up another 1/2 c of fresh whipping cream for garnish, and topped it off with sprinkling with cinamon, cocoa powder, and shaved Ghiradellis chocolate. If I had any chocolate covered cocoa beans I would have used those as well. This truly is a keeper, very very very smooth tiramusu. Make it 24hrs in advance of serving, it really makes a difference to have the right consistency. Thanks for your submission Carol! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
This recipe worked out really well for 10 people. I preferred this recipe over other tiramisu recipes because this one requires you to cook the eggs (some recipes call for raw eggs). I used a springform pan and lined the sides with upright ladyfingers. The downside to this is that the Kahlua runs down to the bottom, so the sides aren't really soaked well (next time, when serving, I'll spoon additional Kahlua over the dry parts). However, the presentation was very impressive. I prepared this a day ahead of time so that the cake would hold itself together when served. This recipe was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Everyone did the "Oh My God" as soon as they had there first bite! I made this for Thanksgiving and have been asked many times to make it for Christmas! It takes a little time, but it is sooooo good you simply wont care! ENJOY dana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This has got to be the BEST! Made it for Thanksgiving and again for a Christmas party. Not a crumb left...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States