Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Great recipe! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Made this for Christmas and New Year's - Everyone loved it (I used Kahlua)!!! I have to make it again (can't wait)...perhaps double the mascarpone cheese filling to fill the Trifle dish I have or make 3 layers....it was SO yummy! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Great flavor, but lady fingers needed more moisture. Definitely needs to sit overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I made this for the first time for our family Christmas dinner. Each year we do a dinner from a different country and this year it was Italian themed. I chose this recipe because of the cooked eggs and the ease and clarity of the directions. I did omit the liqueur and used strong coffee mixed with some Herseys syrup for brushing the ladyfingers. I also made it in a 9 X 13 pan for ease of cutting and serving. It came out beautifully cut into nice neat squares, not runny at all. It was loved by all and everyone said it was the best they had ever had. My own birthday is coming up very soon and I will be making it for myself as my birthday cake! One note on another review that was helpful to me was being very careful not to cook the egg yolks at too high of a temperature or they might cook through and get lumpy, like scrambled eggs. I made sure I constantly stirred the eggs and never left them for the entire 10 minutes. I wanted to make sure they were really cooked so I think I actually cooked them for closer to 12 minutes. Thank you Carol, for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Yes, this was by far the best desert I've ever made. It's easy and tastes great! It turned out excellent for the first time. I used less sugar like some reviews suggested. Next one tho I will make it overnight and use a bit more rum (I think I used less than the recipe suggests). Can't wait to make more. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is the best recipe. I have never made tiramisu before and it turned out like I have been making it for years. In some of the comments I read, their cream was runny - I think the key is really step 2 - whipping heavy cream into stiff peaks. I bought three packages of soft lady fingers and it was the perfect amount. I brushed the espresso/kahlua mix and it gave great flavor. I also used a 8.5" spring form pan and it was awesome for presentation - looked like I bought from a bakery! This was a fun dessert to make, super easy and one of my favorites to make. Love, love, love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krissywaldo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horsham, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I have made this many times and it is a great recipe. A little less sugar might be good. I use way more kahlua than called for. I don't bother to split the ladyfingers. I garnish with chocolate covered espresso beans. I get a lot of compliments on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Merryfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
after reading the reviews i made similar changes, i used 3/4 c sugar and mixed it with the eggs a bit before cooking. i added 1 tsp vanilla to the heavy whipping cream and whipped it in a chilled bowl. used soft lady fingers, 2 packages (but will get one more next time) and used a tbsp to pour the iced coffee over them. turned out fantastic. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I've made this twice now and both times it got rave reviews! Both times I used the hard lady fingers. The first time I dipped them in a coffee/kahluah mixture and they came out soggy. The second time I brushed the mixture on the hard lady fingers until they were well covered and it was PERFECT! I even had a friend who's not big on tirimisu ask for the recipe! A few notes on the recipe- I reduced the sugar by almost 1/2 and it was plenty sweet. I also used a 2:1 coffee/kahluah mixture for brushing the lady fingers. For the reviewer who was concerned about possible raw eggs (during pregnancy), I used a food thermometer and made sure the yolks reached 160 degrees before removing from the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Excellent recipe!! I used other reviewers advice and got the hard ladyfingers and dipped the entire thing quickly in the coffee (these shouldn't be split). You just have to be sure you dip quickly or they will fall apart. Doing it this way avoids the cakier texture of just brushing the coffee on the soft ladyfingers. Overall, fantastic taste and texture and easy to make! I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States