Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Amazing. Followed the instructions except I let the egg/sugar mixture cool first before mixing it with the mascarpone. People just need patience when making this. It is a lovely dessert and one of my friends called it comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This recipe is phenomenal! I make it in a springform pan, and it comes out perfect every time. Took the advice of other members and halved the sugar. Used the mascarpone substitute from Giada' s website (Googled mascarpone substitute), and strong coffee so it's kid-friendly, and my world-travelling best friend says it's the best she's ever had. Really hard to find lady fingers where I am, so I use (2) 12 oz packages of Stella D'oro brand Margherite (spelling?) cookies, and the recipe uses every single one, minus two or three for snacking. Can't even tell that it's not exactly authentic. Super easy to make, and delicious to boot. It'll even impress the in-laws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I use only 1/4 cup of white sugar, or it is extremely sweet. I also use biscoff cookies soaked in coffee and Kahlua turns out perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
What happens when you add mascarpone to anything hot? It melts into an oil. This recipe says to whip the mascarpone into the cooked and whipped egg yolk mixture, with no mention of chilling it first. I followed the directions, even though I knew what would happen, and sure enough, the mascarpone melted. What a waste of good, expensive mascarpone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I made this recipe and received excellent reviews! It was so delicious, but I did do a couple of things differently. 1) I used Italian Savioardi cookies I found that were harder than the soft Milano ladyfingers. I think they are more authentic, and liked the sugar on the top layer of the cookie. 2) I mixed 1/3 cup of coffee liqueur with one strong espresso for extra coffee flavor. Because the cookies were hard, I did need the extra liquid to get them to my desired softness. For assembly, I used a springform pan and followed the directions like the recipe indicated. Next time I will line the sides of the pan with cookies first, then line the bottom. I quickly dunked both sides of the cookie in the liqueur, placed in the bottom of the pan, and brushed a little more on top. I also brushed the cookies on the sides of the pan a little so they wouldn't be too hard to break with a fork. The cookie layer was perfect!! I also think there is enough cream to do three layers. (I only did two layers and it was fine but the cream layers were quite thick). Overall, great recipe and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Had some friends over for supper everyone loved the tiramisu. They even asked if they could take some home. One of the best desserts I have made. LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by langstonjd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Erickson, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
not bad, but the coffee liqueur in addition to all the sugar made it too sweet for my taste. I will be trying a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this recipe my one. The following are ways I tweaked this recipe...that I believe made it better. - ~6 oz dark rum and strong coffee mix (used to baste each layer of ladyfingers) - ~8 oz cream cheese & ~8 oz mascarpone (homemade is a lot easier than one might think, not to mention the awesome taste) - Homemade Ladyfingers - Used 1 cup sugar, vice 1 ¼ cup. For the mascarpone I simply purchased a cheese making kit from: http://www.cheesemaking.com/Mascarpone.html#Anchor-Option-49575 *Great site for those who want to get into cheesemaking* The biggest impact I noticed on taste improvement, was the ½ & ½ mixture of cream cheese and mascarpone. The taste was creamy, sweet (but not too sweet), with almost a tang. This is a recipe I will be making again! The only changes I will be making are the shape of the cake. *I do not want to toot my own horn, but I was impressed and so were my guests*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was heavenly:) We ate the whole thing. Would add rum extract instead of rum, when there are kids involved. I used smaller Ladyfingers, so I didn't cut them in half. I rolled them in the coffee/rum mixture I made, and proceded with the directions as written. Happy eating:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maria
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
The first time I made this Tiramisu I used the accect recepi. It was way to strong for us. The second time I made it I changet it up a bit. I used 1 cup of very strong coffee and 3 Tablespoons of coffee flavored liqueur mixet together. I cooled the coffe mixture in the fridge wile I mixed the othed ingrediants. The flavor was great and we were able to enjoy it better.Also it's much better if you make it the a day before you serve it to your guests. The flavor is much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States