Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this dessert two days in a row for two separate family gatherings (in laws and my own family). The first day I followed the original recipe. The second day I made some tweaks based on lessons learned and everyone absolutely loved the tiramisu. They couldn't believe that I had made it. Here are my tips: 1. Use mascarpone and not the cream cheese, sour cream and whipping cream as substitute. The substitute is not bad, but if you're making tiramisu, you are better off with mascarpone. 2. Make espresso (3/4 cup water and 4 tbsp coffee) and add 1/3 cup coffee liqueur (alt. 1/2 cup if you like the strong liqueur taste). 3. It is important to generously brush the lady fingers in the serving dish so the coffee taste mixes with cream and for the fingers to soak properly. The first day I dipped the lady fingers in the coffee for about 2 seconds before layering, and even after 24 hrs in the fridge, I felt that the ladyfingers were on the dry side and the cream didn't have the coffee taste. Splitting the ladyfingers in half is good as it will help softening them - particularly f you are serving the same day. 4. Soft ladyfingers - someone suggested using soft ladyfingers. I went to a huge grocery store in an Italian neighbourhood and couldn't find soft lady fingers. The softest brand I could find was Milano Giant Ladyfingers Biscuits (5.3 oz/ 150g per packet). I found that 2-3 packets are enough if you are not lining the side of the dish with fingers. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this for Christmas dinner - nothing but raves!!! I followed the advice of the man at the Italian market and bought the "good" mascarpone, instead of the less expensive stuff - I don't know if it made a difference or not, but what a hit! Also couldn't/didn't split the hard cookies - not a problem to use whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This recipe is amazing!! I followed it for the most part except I used strong coffee mixed with 2 tbs of rum. I bought marscapone cheese and lady fingers at an Italian speciality store. I recommend using the more firm lady fingers since they will absorb the coffee mixture and not fall apart when serving. This recipe will be used often at my house especially during my Feast of the Seven Fishes dinner on Christmas Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was dead simple and super tasty! My mistake was not getting enough ladyfingers. Otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANIE_STENSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
The only issue I had at all with this recipe was that it's a little sweet for my taste. That's a lot of sugar compared to some other tiramisu recipes I've looked at. But it was good. My boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly22

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Great Recipe- I replaced the coffee liquor with Rum Cream for a sweeter taste and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I've made this twice now. Once for my family in which I used a 13x9. I substituted coffee for the liquer due to feeding it to the kids. The second was at a family gathering in which I used a trifle bowl I purchased for this reason. The kids loved it, which shocked me as I have a picky eater. The extended family RAVED about it. It was gone very quickly, and I was told I am not allowed to show up to a gathering without it, ha! The trifle bowl looked beautiful, so not only did it taste great, it made me look like I know what I'm doing. I was asked if I always made "fancy schmancy desserts". Leftovers are great too, the kids liked it better after it sat in the fridge for a couple days, and hubby and I definitely thought it was a great leftover treat. It was gone before I could see how it tasted on day three. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Moulds Blonigen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Great recipe. the cream although i didnt use the Italian cheese but the common substitute was superb.just remember the coffee taste is very strong and bitter so dip the biscuit lightly until its color is light brown,if the color was coffee dark it will be very bitter. trust me that happened to me . the stiffer you want it the more you must whip the whipping cream only,not the finale mixture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dalinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I made this for my boss' birthday today since it's his favorite dessert and it got RAVE reviews. I substituted the cream cheese, sour cream and heavy cream mixture for the mascarpone cheese, and used strong coffee instead of Kahlua and it still came out beautifully. I put mine in a 9" springform pan overnight and when I took the outer ring off this morning it held its shape and looked awesome. I garnished with dark chocolate curls and chocolate covered espresso beans. Such an easy, but impressive looking dessert that gets lots of oohs and aahs! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States