Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
can someone guide me if this recipe is safe to eat during pregnancy since the egg yolks in it are some what cooked. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
You can never go wrong having tiramisu, yet you can mess up during the making of. Some tips: Melt the sugar down to a syrup in the double broiler with a bit of water. Then in a separate bowl combine syrup with egg yolks and whisk to the thick lemon yellow consistency. This made it much easier since it was my first time with a double broiler. Plus with this method all the sugar melts and the yolks won't end up being cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I have tried many tiramisu recepies and this is by far the tastiest. I've made it twice and served in giant trifle bown - as beautiful as it is delicious :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I reviewed this once, but thought since I have made it so many times I would review it one more time. The basic recipe is good with a little tweeking. First please, please, please buy the hard ladyfingers - when you dip them they become soft - if you start off with the soft ones they become mush after sitting. Use 2 cups of espresso with 1/4 cup liquor of your choice - I use rum - you can also adjust how much liquor you put in for those who like it stronger. The amount of sugar is way off to my liking. I use 1/2 cup sugar with the egg yolks. I put the eggs and sugar in a bowl over simmering water and take my hand mixer and mix the entire time they are heating...makes it easier. Whip the cream until very stiff. With these adjustments this is a wonderful recipe!!! Also I know people substitute the mascarpone cheese, but don't do it unless you have to - the original is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Just made my first Tiramisu! It's sitting in the fridge right now. Can't wait til tomorrow when I can taste it. It was so easy to make. I was terrified that I would mess it up. For some reason I thought that tiramisu was difficult to make. I did half mascarpone cheese and half creamcheese. Also, I found it easier to make chocolate curls using a sharp paring knife on a chocolate bar instead of a vegetable peeler, but that just is preference. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was the first attempt at tiramisu and I'm hooked. I gave a piece to my coworker and she couldn't believe that I made it. She practically melted off of her chair while eating it. I followed the recipe almost to the dot but made a few minor changes. Since I'm not a huge fan of alcohol, I used a strong black coffee to brush on the lady fingers instead. My coworkers said I have converted them to virgin tiramisu lovers. Also, definitely let it sit overnight or atleast 8 or 9 hours so that it sets properly otherwise it is too runny. The only other change I made was I cooked the egg yolks and sugar for 5 minutes rather than 10. I may decrease the sugar to just over 1 cup rather than the 1 1/4 cups next time but that's it. This is a keeper and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Made this for a dinner party and not only was it much easier than I anticipated, but my guest loved it. Could not find mascarpone so I substituted ricotta. Worked fine. I think the only way to improve will be to make my own lady fingers--hmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I'm sorry...but I don't think this turned out well at all. I followed the directions exactly, my yolk/sugar mixture was a bit weird and it never set up even after being made over 24hrs in advance. I'm a bit dissapointed because the ingredients were expensive and none of my guests liked it so it all got tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I followed the instructions as is, turned off the oven when it was done baking, and left it in the oven to cool for an hour. I still had a couple cracks on top but the taste was divine! I just topped it off with some fresh fruits and drizzled melted white chocolates on top and no one knew. Next time I'll try the water bath to prevent any cracks on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Great recipe! Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States