Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is beyond fabulous. It is a little more work than a standard dessert but tastes like a million bucks. And that's what it'll cost for all the ingredients too! Just kidding. Made this for a large get together and had many people say that this was not only the BEST tiramisu they have ever had in their life but the BEST dessert they have ever had. A note on the recipe: It calls for way more ladyfingers than you will need if you are using a spring form pan. I couldn't find enough at the store and ended up making them from scratch(now that is a pain!) but made too many because of the incorrect amount. I would say you need about 16 oz worth of lady fingers not 24 if you are using a spring form pan. Make this recipe if you want people to think you are a fabulous cook and want to give you a diamond necklace because of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
WOW!!!! That was fantastic! After reading the reviews I decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup and used 12 oz of Starbucks coffee with a shot of marsala wine instead of coffee liqueur. I also added some coffee to the cream mixture. YUMMY!!!!! BUT it NEEDED to set overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dix Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
can someone guide me if this recipe is safe to eat during pregnancy since the egg yolks in it are some what cooked. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
You can never go wrong having tiramisu, yet you can mess up during the making of. Some tips: Melt the sugar down to a syrup in the double broiler with a bit of water. Then in a separate bowl combine syrup with egg yolks and whisk to the thick lemon yellow consistency. This made it much easier since it was my first time with a double broiler. Plus with this method all the sugar melts and the yolks won't end up being cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I have tried many tiramisu recepies and this is by far the tastiest. I've made it twice and served in giant trifle bown - as beautiful as it is delicious :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I reviewed this once, but thought since I have made it so many times I would review it one more time. The basic recipe is good with a little tweeking. First please, please, please buy the hard ladyfingers - when you dip them they become soft - if you start off with the soft ones they become mush after sitting. Use 2 cups of espresso with 1/4 cup liquor of your choice - I use rum - you can also adjust how much liquor you put in for those who like it stronger. The amount of sugar is way off to my liking. I use 1/2 cup sugar with the egg yolks. I put the eggs and sugar in a bowl over simmering water and take my hand mixer and mix the entire time they are heating...makes it easier. Whip the cream until very stiff. With these adjustments this is a wonderful recipe!!! Also I know people substitute the mascarpone cheese, but don't do it unless you have to - the original is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Just made my first Tiramisu! It's sitting in the fridge right now. Can't wait til tomorrow when I can taste it. It was so easy to make. I was terrified that I would mess it up. For some reason I thought that tiramisu was difficult to make. I did half mascarpone cheese and half creamcheese. Also, I found it easier to make chocolate curls using a sharp paring knife on a chocolate bar instead of a vegetable peeler, but that just is preference. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was the first attempt at tiramisu and I'm hooked. I gave a piece to my coworker and she couldn't believe that I made it. She practically melted off of her chair while eating it. I followed the recipe almost to the dot but made a few minor changes. Since I'm not a huge fan of alcohol, I used a strong black coffee to brush on the lady fingers instead. My coworkers said I have converted them to virgin tiramisu lovers. Also, definitely let it sit overnight or atleast 8 or 9 hours so that it sets properly otherwise it is too runny. The only other change I made was I cooked the egg yolks and sugar for 5 minutes rather than 10. I may decrease the sugar to just over 1 cup rather than the 1 1/4 cups next time but that's it. This is a keeper and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Made this for a dinner party and not only was it much easier than I anticipated, but my guest loved it. Could not find mascarpone so I substituted ricotta. Worked fine. I think the only way to improve will be to make my own lady fingers--hmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I'm sorry...but I don't think this turned out well at all. I followed the directions exactly, my yolk/sugar mixture was a bit weird and it never set up even after being made over 24hrs in advance. I'm a bit dissapointed because the ingredients were expensive and none of my guests liked it so it all got tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States