Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I thought this was okay for tiramisu. I had troubles with it being a little too runny. I think you have to let it sit in the fridge for a couple days to help because I followed the directions and had stiff peaks in my heavy cream. I used 3 packages of soft lady fingers and quickly dipped them in Kahlua instead of brushing them. Flavor is pretty good, I just wasn't as happy about the consistency and would have liked it to be thicker. I used a springform pan, but can't release it because I am not sure it will keep its shape. If you are going to try it make it a few days ahead to allow the coffe/liquor flavor to meld into the tiramisu and also to let is set and thicken. I think I would try a different recipe next time instead of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
My husband made this (as is) for a "teacher appreciation" luncheon recently . . . the bowl came home empty! And the teachers are still raving about it. Can't wait to make it for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
THIS WAS THE GREATEST RECIPE I HAVE EVER USED IN MY WHOLE LIFE. I EAT IT FOR BREAKFAST, LUNCH, AND DINNER. EVERYDAY!!! THIS HAS MADE ME WHO I AM TODAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this Tiramisu as a sweet treat after an evening of appetizers. At the end of the night, I do believe someone had licked the serving bowl clean. The only thing I did different was to add a shot of espresso to the Coffee liquor to give the lady fingers a wonderful rich deep coffee flavor. I used soft ladyfingers and gave the a hick dip in the espresso-liquor mixture so they had more of the sweet coffee flavor than I would have gotten from brushing them. It was the best Tiramisu recipe I have found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rubyelainem
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I picked this recipe bec the egg yolks are cooked. Next time I make it, I'd add brandy and rum to the eggyolk/cream cheese mixture before folding the whipped cream, and I'd really soak the lady finger layers in espresso with kahlua instead of just brushing it on the cookies. And I advise you to freeze it because it tastes so much better frozen ;).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I was in Florence this past summer and had the most amazing tiramisu. I promptly begin looking for a matching recipe and found this one. It's not traditional with beautiful square lines (or maybe I just make it differently...) but it's perfect and reminds me of Florence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
My mom used to make Tiramisu as it's my sister's favorite, but hasn't made it in forever. I found this recipe was even better than hers. First, I followed another reviewer's instructions and decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup, and prepared the sugar in the double boiler separate from the egg yolks; I'm not sure what a difference it made as I never made it the other way, I HIGHLY recommend making it in a springform pan. My biggest complaint with my mom's version was that the bottom tended to get soggy because the coffee from the cookies would leak out. That being said, I put a larger bowl under the pan as I worked to absorb the coffee that leaked out. Also, because I was taking the cake to go, I froze it for a few hours beforehand. It kept its shape PERFECTLY on the drive over, made slicing it much neater, and even though the center was slightly frozen, I'd probably just not freeze it as long next time. Great recipe. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made this as a special dessert for my sister's birthday. The whole family raved and every scrap was gobbled up! I'm a little confused by the amount of lady fingers that are listed in the ingredients. I bought 3 packages (7-3/4 ounces each) and only had room for 1-1/2 packages in the large bowl I used to assemble it. I wish the recipe suggested a bowl or pan size that it should fit into. My other suggestion is that it needs more coffee flavour. It was too subtle. Next time I will dip each cookie completely in the kalua (or espresso) on both sides. Can't wait for the next occasion to make it again and tweak it:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made this twice in one week that's how big of a hit it was. like others I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cups. but i added 3 layers to the cake so i increased the whip cream amount to 2 cups. it made it more cake like and small portions were enough for each person. but overall people wouldn't stop raving on about it and begged me to make it again for another dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Made this yesterday....It was outstanding! We were having an Italian themed dinner party and this was the perfect way to finish the evening. It wasn't hard to make either. I will confess that I used quite a bit more than 1/3 cup of liqueur. I dipped the lady fingers in the liqueur rather than brush it on and they really soaked it up. Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States