Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Inedibly sweet! Not sure I'll try this again but if I do I'll cut the sugar in half. Reminded me more of cotton candy than good tiramisu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I found this recipe cloyingly sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this recipe last night and it turned out delicious! I added spiced rum to the strong coffee. Approximately 1 part rum to 2 parts coffee and this can be changed depending on how strong you like the taste. I used hard ladyfingers and poured the coffee/rum mixture on top of the cookies instead of dipping them. I added cocoa powder to the top and sprinkled semisweet chocolate chips on top as well. I brought it to work today and everyone said it tasted amazing! Definitely worth the trouble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmp009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is the best dessert I have ever made. I've done it with the mascarpone and also with the sour/cream cheese substitute-- both are amazing! I do it in my trifle bowl and am able to get 4 layers (instead of 2 as the recipe suggests) out of the ingredients. This is my favorite tiramisu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is a great recipe and not very hard to make. I noticed that the recipe calls for 2 (12oz) lady fingers. I think that is an error and it should read 2 (3oz) lady fingers. The lady fingers I use are called Specialty Bakers Lady Fingers and you find them in the bakery section. If you can't find them ask your baker for them. I got them at my local Publix grocery and if they are not out they usually have them in the freezer. These are soft cake like ladyfingers, not crunchy. With that said if you find these ladyfingers, this recipe is on the back of the package. The only other change I will make next time is more coffee liquer. This is a fantastic recipe but I would love more coffee flavor. Also, I used mascarpone cheese that is coffee flavored. I did make this in a springform pan as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Thank you Carol, this is deliciuos!!!! and it`s not too hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this dessert two days in a row for two separate family gatherings (in laws and my own family). The first day I followed the original recipe. The second day I made some tweaks based on lessons learned and everyone absolutely loved the tiramisu. They couldn't believe that I had made it. Here are my tips: 1. Use mascarpone and not the cream cheese, sour cream and whipping cream as substitute. The substitute is not bad, but if you're making tiramisu, you are better off with mascarpone. 2. Make espresso (3/4 cup water and 4 tbsp coffee) and add 1/3 cup coffee liqueur (alt. 1/2 cup if you like the strong liqueur taste). 3. It is important to generously brush the lady fingers in the serving dish so the coffee taste mixes with cream and for the fingers to soak properly. The first day I dipped the lady fingers in the coffee for about 2 seconds before layering, and even after 24 hrs in the fridge, I felt that the ladyfingers were on the dry side and the cream didn't have the coffee taste. Splitting the ladyfingers in half is good as it will help softening them - particularly f you are serving the same day. 4. Soft ladyfingers - someone suggested using soft ladyfingers. I went to a huge grocery store in an Italian neighbourhood and couldn't find soft lady fingers. The softest brand I could find was Milano Giant Ladyfingers Biscuits (5.3 oz/ 150g per packet). I found that 2-3 packets are enough if you are not lining the side of the dish with fingers. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this for Christmas dinner - nothing but raves!!! I followed the advice of the man at the Italian market and bought the "good" mascarpone, instead of the less expensive stuff - I don't know if it made a difference or not, but what a hit! Also couldn't/didn't split the hard cookies - not a problem to use whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This recipe is amazing!! I followed it for the most part except I used strong coffee mixed with 2 tbs of rum. I bought marscapone cheese and lady fingers at an Italian speciality store. I recommend using the more firm lady fingers since they will absorb the coffee mixture and not fall apart when serving. This recipe will be used often at my house especially during my Feast of the Seven Fishes dinner on Christmas Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was dead simple and super tasty! My mistake was not getting enough ladyfingers. Otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANIE_STENSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States