Classic Thumbprint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These are definately a keeper- make sure to recreate the thumbprint after the inital bake- they do tend to melt and flatten out a bit. really good with pear butter and raspberry jam-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I made these b/c I was looking for a slightly different jelly thumb-print cookie and these came out perfectly! They rolled well, the chopped nuts stayed on, and the jelly stayed in the finger-print well. For those who experienced problems with the cookies falling apart after baking: try using a finger, rather than a thumb, and don't press too far down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I'm not a cookie maker but I made these cookies and found them delicious. I'm wanted to use up my own freezer jam. I strained out the extra liquid and use it for the filling. That all worked great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This IS the best recipe! We have used it year after year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I too have been looking for a better Jam Thumbprint recipe. We have been making these cookies every Christmas now for over 20 years. I was never completely satisfied with the taste or the look. I hesitated when I saw the rating of two stars, but the other recipes were the ones I had already used at one time or another. My daughter and I decided to give this a go and it is GREAT!!! We sometimes will adjust but decided to follow this recipe to the letter and we loved it. The dough held and formed wonderfully. The true test was when friends and family took a bite and they didn't fall apart. This recipe earns it's place as a true Classic Thumbprint Cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Not a bad cookie, not a sweet cookie never made thumbprints before,cookie will stay together just let it cool on the cookie sheet for a few minutes then place on wire racks to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Added 2 tsp of almond extract instead of vanilla extract trying to make a recipe that was similiar to my Mom's it did not work the cookies were good just did not taste like my Mom's Rasberry Thumbprints :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
The dough was crumbly and dry. There are other thumbprint recipes on this site that I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
this recipe was very easy to make but it lacks flavor-it tastes like flour - so make adjustments for flavor before you bake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States