Classic Thumbprint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I have been looking for a good thumbprint cookie recipe for over a year. Unfortunately this is not it. It was hard to make the print big enough, the jam did not melt into the bowl but sat on top, and they crumbled when I went to take them off the cookie tray. The taste was only so-so. Therefore, I am still looking for that good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I made these last Christmas and had the same trouble as the previous reviewer. The cookies crumbled being taken off the sheet, and the ones that were salvaged had a very dry taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I too have been looking for a better Jam Thumbprint recipe. We have been making these cookies every Christmas now for over 20 years. I was never completely satisfied with the taste or the look. I hesitated when I saw the rating of two stars, but the other recipes were the ones I had already used at one time or another. My daughter and I decided to give this a go and it is GREAT!!! We sometimes will adjust but decided to follow this recipe to the letter and we loved it. The dough held and formed wonderfully. The true test was when friends and family took a bite and they didn't fall apart. This recipe earns it's place as a true Classic Thumbprint Cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
The dough was crumbly and dry. There are other thumbprint recipes on this site that I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
my daughter and I made these. I must have done something wrong as they completely fell apart when removing from cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I'm not a cookie maker but I made these cookies and found them delicious. I'm wanted to use up my own freezer jam. I strained out the extra liquid and use it for the filling. That all worked great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I made these b/c I was looking for a slightly different jelly thumb-print cookie and these came out perfectly! They rolled well, the chopped nuts stayed on, and the jelly stayed in the finger-print well. For those who experienced problems with the cookies falling apart after baking: try using a finger, rather than a thumb, and don't press too far down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Not a bad cookie, not a sweet cookie never made thumbprints before,cookie will stay together just let it cool on the cookie sheet for a few minutes then place on wire racks to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These are definately a keeper- make sure to recreate the thumbprint after the inital bake- they do tend to melt and flatten out a bit. really good with pear butter and raspberry jam-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States