Classic Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Highly tasty. Highly addictive. We substitute one can of black-eyed peas for a can of shoepeg corn to add a little variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This recipe is AWESOME! I added only one jalepeno since I am a wimp and I use evoo and garlic wine vinegar instead of what is called for in the recipe, and I add a few more peppers and such. This is a must at get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I've made this many times before using Good Seasons salad dressing as the "marinade" - while that is good, this is MUCH better. A subtle yet tasty twang - I used Rotel tomatoes (blue can) beans, corn, black eyed peas, small diced chiles, some chopped jalapenos, cilantro, green onion and a couple squirts of lime juice - addictive way to squeeze in veggie servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was awesome and I will definately make again. Word of caution: WHEN CHOPPING THE JALEPENO PEPPER, WEAR GLOVES!!! I had some weird reaction and my hands burned like they were on fire for about 6 hours. It was horrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
i really like texas caviar but i only had balsamic vinegar so i used that and it was too strong. plus there was a lot of juice. i ate this as a side dish with a barbecue dinner and it wasn't as good as i remembered. i think eating it with tortilla chips would be a good accompinament. my kids thought the texture of the black-eyed peas was weird. i will try it again but with regular red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was a surprise hit at my last family party. I had an uncle in town who is vegan, so I tried to find something extra I could make for him to enjoy besides salad! My in-laws who are usually very resistant to trying anything new and different devoured it, and were asking for the recipe. Mine was a little on the blander side because I only used 1 jalapeno, and removed all the seeds and ribs because I didn't want it to be too spicy. So I had to re-season it with some salt, pepper, and garlic powder after it was refrigerated. So, just like the recipe states - taste and adjust the seasoning to your liking. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan U.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Made this to go along with a big BBQ I did. Everyone was a tad leery at first until they tried it, then it was gone in no time. Matter of fact, I didn't even get to try it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colleyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I love this recipe! I make a double batch everytime. I do like to add a little bit more heat with an extra two serrano peppers and one or two more jalapenos. I also like to add a few fresh tomatos! Make sure you drain the fine diced tomatos really well and rinse and drain the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I followed this recipe to the "T"... It was awsome. No changes needed. I made this for a dinner party and EVERYONE loved it, even the picky kids and hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This was a delicous way to get our "good luck" black eyed peas for the new year. My husband hates black eyed peas but actually ate more than a spoonful of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States