Classic Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Love it! I made it last year for New Year's 2008 and I plan on making it again this New Year's eve. I served with with Tostito's scoops but also ate the left-overs by the spoonful. Yum, Yum, Yummy! Update: So I did make it for New Year's 2009. This time I added two chopped avocados and used 1 can of black-eyed peas and 1 can of black beans. I also didn't have fresh cilantro so I used dried. I'm still in love with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Loubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Helen, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I just made this for work and it's a hit. I used one can of black beans and one can of black-eyed peas, a can of corn in place of the bell pepper, and habenero peppers instead of jalepenos. I'll probably add one more pepper in the future to make it a little more spicy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueshark77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
great recipe. refreshing and healthy snack. followed recipe without changing. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is wonderful, simple and nutritious! For more color and interest, I substituted one of the cans of black-eyed peas for a can of black beans then I added some canned corn. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Made this for a family dinner. It was a real hit. Family gobbled it up. It was used as a dip, on top of salad, and even over the grilled chicken. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Addictive recipe!!!! I omitted the olive oil and added 2 diced avocados and the juice of one lime. Also, used fresh black eyed peas from the farmer's market, just boiled for a few minutes unil soft. Next time I may add another jalapeno. This will be made over and over in my house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MyShelluna
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I made this as an appetizer for a Mom's Night Out. Some of my friends are vegan, so this was perfect. Served with corn tortilla chips. Followed recipe to the "t".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyShelluna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
soooo...basicallyyyy this recipe is um lemme think AMAZINGGGG!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Really good recipe that could be used as a dip at a party. I used fresh tomatoes, pinto beans because they were in the pantry, and omitted the jalepeno for my wife. The red wine vinegar made it for me because it added just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I followed this recipe to the "T"... It was awsome. No changes needed. I made this for a dinner party and EVERYONE loved it, even the picky kids and hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States