Classic Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I made this for a wedding shower and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was so good - most recipes I came across use bottled Italian dressing so this was a nice substitute. Also, instead of 2 cans of black eyed peas, I used only one, added 1 can of black beans and one can full of thawed, frozen corn. For the onion, I used red and used red pepper insted of yellow. Great color! I only used one jalapeno as the ones I bought were TOO hot! As for the amount of dressing, I kept that the same. This is going to be a great recipe all summer long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I've had Texas Caviar previously, but I've never made it. This was both easy AND delicious! I had a friend tell me that he normally hates stuff like this and he couldn't stop eating it. The only things I changed were that I used a combo of red and green bells peppers, used Ro-Tel tomatoes instead of the diced, and added a squirt of lime juice at the end. This is even better the next day and I'm looking forward to enjoying this tasty concoction on my next batch of nachos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Thanks for a recipe that doesn't use the bottled dressings! I'd been looking for a Texas (Cowboy) Caviar recipe that skipped out on the preservatives and hydrogenated junk... this recipe is fresh and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by culturecooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Fantastic. i used 1 can black-eyed peas, 1 can black beans, and only 1 Jalapeno ( no seeds) and red, not yellow peppers. It disappeared when I took it to work. Was spicy but not upsetting to others' tummies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Didn't use jalapenos or bell pepper since I didn't have any. Added 4 oz can chopped green chiles. Used canola oil instead of olive oil, and 1 fresh squeezed lime instead of red wine vinegar. I loved this recipe - flavorful, delicious, and satisfying. Next time I would probably use just half the oil though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I'm a Texan and have tried a number of recipes for this dish--all good. However, everyone at my house on Super Bowl Sunday said: "You don't have to try any more Texas Caviar recipes. This one is a KEEPER." That's good enough for me--and, VERY unlike me--I didn't change a thing! Kudos to Pam Anderson for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Excellent!! No need to ever buy salsa again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I live overseas and Wishbone is so terribly expensive and probably full of preservatives so I prefer to make the dressing myself. I pretty much followed the recipe except for using a different pepper as we also don't have jalapenos and it really hit the spot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I tweaked this just a bit. Instead of 2 cans of black-eyed peas I used 1 can of black-eyed peas and 1 can of black beans (drained & rinsed). I substituted a can of Rotel tomatoes for the diced tomatoes and jalapenos and substituted red & green bell pepper for the yellow bell pepper. I used the exact amount of red wine vinager & oil called for and I found it to be a little on the vinagery side - you could probably cut back and still have great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States