Classic Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
OMG - this was awesome. I subbed one can black beans for one of the black eyed peas, added yellow hominy and switched the yellow pepper to an orange one for color. Unlike a previous reviewer I used Balsamic vinegar and thought it was fine. I used the leftovers to make wraps with diced chicken and some avocado. I could eat this forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Very very good. I only use 1 can of black beans, add a can of corn, use fresh tomatoes and garlic, and make half the dressing (with almost full amount of spices). After 5 tries, this is the way we like it best. Also, it's not necessary for the fresh pepper to be a yellow or red pepper, green works just as well, and is even fresher tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I really wanted to give this recipe 4 1/2 stars but I can't so I settled for 4. I took this dish to a get together and I had mixed reviews. I felt it was lacking something for taste, not sure what,but it could use something to sweeten it a little or maybe a little hot sauce to give it a kick. I did use black eyed peas and black beans, Rotel tomatoes, added a small can of corn, red onion, a little garlic powder and some diced avocado prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This has a perfect amount of olive oil and vinegar. I think some type of sweet flavor would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sausage King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I used fresh tomatoes ...juice from 2 limes and 5 jalapenos..great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I made this for a wedding shower and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was so good - most recipes I came across use bottled Italian dressing so this was a nice substitute. Also, instead of 2 cans of black eyed peas, I used only one, added 1 can of black beans and one can full of thawed, frozen corn. For the onion, I used red and used red pepper insted of yellow. Great color! I only used one jalapeno as the ones I bought were TOO hot! As for the amount of dressing, I kept that the same. This is going to be a great recipe all summer long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I've had Texas Caviar previously, but I've never made it. This was both easy AND delicious! I had a friend tell me that he normally hates stuff like this and he couldn't stop eating it. The only things I changed were that I used a combo of red and green bells peppers, used Ro-Tel tomatoes instead of the diced, and added a squirt of lime juice at the end. This is even better the next day and I'm looking forward to enjoying this tasty concoction on my next batch of nachos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Thanks for a recipe that doesn't use the bottled dressings! I'd been looking for a Texas (Cowboy) Caviar recipe that skipped out on the preservatives and hydrogenated junk... this recipe is fresh and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by culturecooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Fantastic. i used 1 can black-eyed peas, 1 can black beans, and only 1 Jalapeno ( no seeds) and red, not yellow peppers. It disappeared when I took it to work. Was spicy but not upsetting to others' tummies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States