Classic Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Awesome!!! I've made this several times and always get compliments. I sometimes change it up and add a can of corn and a can of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
First, it's the best Texas caviar I've tasted. A lot of people use bottled dressing or add sugar. I love how this recipe is just *fresh* I make this for parties, but also for myself. Almost every week I make a big batch of it and then use it for snacking . . . I also put it on chicken, fish, nachos . . . I love it as filling for omelets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Wow! So so good. I diced fresh tomatoes instead and added white corn. I gave some to the neighbors who used it on fish tacos and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is an awesome reicipe! My change was Black Olives(diced) instead of peas. Very healthy and delicious!!!! I make 2 double batches one spicey and one milder. Both disappear at every kind of event!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I brought this Texas Caviar to a Family BBQ back in July and have since been asked to bring it to every family get together. It's simple to make and a nice addition to any party. It's now one of my go to recipes for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very good and got rave reviews at the party that I took this to. I used one can black beans, one can black eyed peas, cut the oil in half and used lime juice in place of. Oh, also used green onions in place of white. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amrenee
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Delicious! I substituted one can of the black eyed peas with black beans. Next time I make it, I will do it the night before to give the flavors time to blend. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Great for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was awesome! Made it as directed and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is a little time consuming, but well worth it. I substitute black beans for black eyed peas. I'm always asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States