Classic Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Huge Hit! I loved it, the kids loved it and it even went on the Dad's Camping trip and all the other kids and Dad's loved it. Great with tortilla chips. I ran out of red wine vinegar after 4Tbls. but it was plenty. I would also limit the oil to about 4Tbls. as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This recipe is amazing. I followed it almost exactly although I did add kidney beans. It's so good. It's something that my friends (some vegan, some vegetarian, some meat eaters) all loved and wanted me to make over and over. This is definitely my new favorite go to meal. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcginnissa
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I have tried several recipes and think I like this one the most. Can be used with chips or to top chicken or fish. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I love this dip - so easy and tasty. I've made it quite a few times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was a HUGE hit with my family this weekend. It's traditionally good luck to eat black-eyed peas on New Year's Day (southern tradition). We are not from Texas, but we live here and we don't care for black-eyed peas. This recipe was the bomb!!! Did not change anything, but did add one small can of diced green chiles. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Awesome!!! I've made this several times and always get compliments. I sometimes change it up and add a can of corn and a can of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
First, it's the best Texas caviar I've tasted. A lot of people use bottled dressing or add sugar. I love how this recipe is just *fresh* I make this for parties, but also for myself. Almost every week I make a big batch of it and then use it for snacking . . . I also put it on chicken, fish, nachos . . . I love it as filling for omelets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Wow! So so good. I diced fresh tomatoes instead and added white corn. I gave some to the neighbors who used it on fish tacos and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is an awesome reicipe! My change was Black Olives(diced) instead of peas. Very healthy and delicious!!!! I make 2 double batches one spicey and one milder. Both disappear at every kind of event!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I brought this Texas Caviar to a Family BBQ back in July and have since been asked to bring it to every family get together. It's simple to make and a nice addition to any party. It's now one of my go to recipes for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States