Classic Texas Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I followed this recipe fairly close. Only put in one jalapeno as we dont like it too hot. Added some flavor, but could use two and still fairly mild. Didnt put much olive oil as I didnt think it needed it. Also did not put cumin in as I dont care for it. I added a bit of spike seasoning which added a great flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Really delicious!!! Neede a different way to serve black eyed peas for New Years day. Make sure you let it set in the fridge for at least an hour to let the flavors meld. It really males all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Not as tasty as I had hoped. I usually make Poor Man's Caviar by FAIRBORN on this site and I will continue to use that recipe. I sub Rotel for the tomatoes in both recipes, which adds flavor. I think I prefer the other recipe because the flavors are much more complex, the green onions, franks hot sauce, avocado,and oil and vinegar pairs perfectly with tortilla chips. It also calls for black beans instead of black eyed peas, which I also prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Wow! This was soo good! I only used 4tbsp of EVOO and I used Rotel instead of plain petite diced tomatoes. I made this as an appetizer to serve with chips, but I think it would be great with tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I love this because the seasonings are really well balanced and I go to this recipe for that part. I actually add a can of black beans, a can of shoe peg corn, just one jalapeño, green onions in the place of regular onion, and because I love bell pepper and frequently have several colors on hand, I dice some of each and add that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERYOUNG28
Photo by Robin Fix
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
It was good, I wasn't a big fan of it but others really liked it! Had to spice it up after it sat overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Fix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alden, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Delicious. We make it once a week. Variations: - Substitute fresh basil for cilantro - Substitute 1 can of black beans for 1 can of the black-eyed peas - Add 1-2 cups corn, fresh or thawed frozen corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunphlowers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This recipe was easy to make and a hit at the July 4th party I went to - I used roasted tomato salsa, not picante sauce... :) delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is a family favorite with fritos scoops. I make a double batch adding black, pinto and small red kidney beans as well. I had been looking for a recipe with no corn as I don't care for it. The dressing was spot on, I added only a couple of tsp. of sugar. The cilantro is a must! Gets better even after a day or two!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I tried this recipe and it was ok. Too tangy/acidic for my taste and it lacked seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ddbee10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States