Classic Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Made this for the kids, and they just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Great recipe. I modified it for our family: Almond and rice milk Glutten free tapioca Brown sugar I left everything else the same including the proportions. It looks and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Excellent recipe. I soak my tapioca in milk overnight. I cook it in a deep saucepan immersed in a stew pot of boiling water. Stirred constantly until thick, it never will burn. I add the vanilla later after it has cooled down some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yoyogirl
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Just made homemade tapioca for first time. Super easy, fast, delicious. Never had it warm b4. Flavours are more developed that way. Added 3/4 tsp of vanilla, only because I like a lot of it. It needs salt for balance. Don't omit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I have used this recipe a few times and it just works great. Perfect home made tapioca pudding that brings back memories of my childhood, the store bought stuff just doesn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fantastic! My mom loves tapioca pudding and I made it as part of a celebration dinner. I used Minute tapioca, which I think is more like instant than quick-cooking, So I mixed the egg in after the mixture boiled, without the 5 minutes of cooking. I used a mix of fat contents in milk to make it about 2%. I also added a little extra sugar (because my family likes it more sweet) and served it cold with nutmeg on top. Creamy and delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Absolutely delicious, and worth the time and effort. I used 2% milk instead of whole milk and it turned out just fine. I might go with a little less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is a great recipe. I have been making it with skim milk and it still comes out thick and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Made this for my mom, who enjoyed the taste. I did double the pure vanilla extract as a few others mentioned and I'm definitely glad I did, because the vanilla flavor was still mild. My only complaint - and I wouldn't have deducted a start but a couple of others mentioned this as well, so I don't think it was just me - was that this pudding was beyond thick when completely cooled. Mind you, except for the vanilla I followed this recipe EXACTLY. Not one single deviation in timing, measurements, heat settings, anything that could have caused the pudding to set up so thick. It was truly beyond thick, it was gelatinous. My stove is a very precise, professional grade, gas stove so it's not like my electric burners were wonky. Because I have no clue how this pudding turned out like this (my Mom assures me it's not supposed to be like that...and she's a Tapioca pudding fanatic)because I am certain I did everything exactly according to the recipe, that's why I only deducted one star because I'm wondering if the consistency has something to do with something unwritten (stir, don't whisk; humid days it should cook less; something). I will use this recipe as a guide and make it again, but I will increase the milk to 3 1/2 cups or 4 cups (like in the Meadowwood Tapioca recipe on this site) to see if that makes this a Tapioca pudding and not a Tapioca gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandonsMom11197

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I liked it. It's a plain tapioca pudding, exactly what I was looking for. Did make one change to it: used large tapioca, which meant I soaked them for about 12 hours and adjusted cook time as needed for thickness. Almost forgot, I also doubled vanilla. Definitely be careful with the heat on the stove: heating/reheating milk/cream on a stove top the rule is that as the heat goes up from minimum, the amount of stirring goes up. At around medium you should keep this moving constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States