Classic Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Excellant! Reminds me of my grandmother's pudding. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. The second time I omitted the salt (didn't see a need for salt) and increased the vanilla to 1 teaspoon. Absolutely perfect! My granddaughters rave to everyone about their new favorite treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was so yummy! Much better than the recipe on the back of the tapioca box that I tried before and thought was just okay! It is time consuming and I did end up cooking mine a bit too long (I had trouble deciding when it was thick enough-ended up plenty thick!) but it was still gobbled up by the whole family! This is a keeper recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This is a great recipe. It reminds me of my grandmothers. I left out the salt. Didn't miss the taste at all. Doubled the vanilla. I microwaved it to save time stirring it on the stove. A total of 8 minutes and stirred it every 2 minutes. I love it warm. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
My 3 year old, who is normally anti-carb, began eating this like there was no tomorrow. And then she stopped. It tastes fairly rich and sweet. I ignored the recipe on the Minit Tapioca box and used this recipe instead, taking the advice of one of the two reviewers and using 1 t vanilla and no salt. Next time I might try adding some salt to offset the sweetness. The consistency was good when it finished cooking, but as it sat, it became quite thick. Good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Delish old-fashioned, slow-foods recipe. I made a half-recipe (using Splenda as I am diabetic) and poured pudding into three dessert dishes. Then garnished each dish with a strawberry sliced into a fan shape (very easy). Personally, I wouldn't recommend omitting the little bit of salt called for, as it helps bring out the subtle flavor of this pudding. Also, doubling the vanilla works well. This recipe will become a staple around this Grandma's house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Delicious! I don't think I used the quick cooking tapioca, so some of it was a little chewy, but the whole family devoured it immediately anyway. Next time I'll try it chilled before serving... if I can keep it hidden from my husband and kids that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
My husbands all-time favorite tapioca pudding. No changes are needed, it has just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Wonderful, comforting tapioca-jello can't make it like this :) I used regular tapioca soaked overnight (didn't have quick cooking), which turned out just fine. I saw one reviewer complain about curdled eggs-it is absolutely necessary to take the time to temper your eggs by adding the hot mixture to prevent this from happening. Very nice recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This is an amazing recipe. I too left out the salt and doubled the vanilla. However, mine didn't come to a rolling boil because the tapioca balls thickened very quickly. It still turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Awesome! I added a tiny bit more sugar to it and doubled the vanilla. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States