Classic Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Excellant! Reminds me of my grandmother's pudding. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. The second time I omitted the salt (didn't see a need for salt) and increased the vanilla to 1 teaspoon. Absolutely perfect! My granddaughters rave to everyone about their new favorite treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Great basic recipe. Use 1/2 beans from a vanilla bean for better flavor, and the black specks are a good contrast against the white pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELWINGS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
My 3 year old, who is normally anti-carb, began eating this like there was no tomorrow. And then she stopped. It tastes fairly rich and sweet. I ignored the recipe on the Minit Tapioca box and used this recipe instead, taking the advice of one of the two reviewers and using 1 t vanilla and no salt. Next time I might try adding some salt to offset the sweetness. The consistency was good when it finished cooking, but as it sat, it became quite thick. Good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This is a great recipe. It reminds me of my grandmothers. I left out the salt. Didn't miss the taste at all. Doubled the vanilla. I microwaved it to save time stirring it on the stove. A total of 8 minutes and stirred it every 2 minutes. I love it warm. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Delish old-fashioned, slow-foods recipe. I made a half-recipe (using Splenda as I am diabetic) and poured pudding into three dessert dishes. Then garnished each dish with a strawberry sliced into a fan shape (very easy). Personally, I wouldn't recommend omitting the little bit of salt called for, as it helps bring out the subtle flavor of this pudding. Also, doubling the vanilla works well. This recipe will become a staple around this Grandma's house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Delicious! I don't think I used the quick cooking tapioca, so some of it was a little chewy, but the whole family devoured it immediately anyway. Next time I'll try it chilled before serving... if I can keep it hidden from my husband and kids that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Very thick! Not watery at all. I have tried a few recipes and this is it. Next time I will add a little more sugar (I have a sweet tooth) and I may have over cooked this a little on that final two minutes. But very tasty just what I was looking for! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I don't remember ever having tapioca pudding before, but this was great. Good thing I didn't follow the directions on the box! I used 1% milk instead of whole (all I had) and it was still delicious and creamy. Wonderful treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I used minute tapioca instead of the quick cooking stuff (evidently there is a difference), so my pudding thickened much earlier than the recipe describes. Also I accidently added the vanilla at the beginning of the cooking process, and then added more at the end. However, the end result was still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States