Classic Sugar Cookies by Crisco® Baking Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Good, but not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Used two different sugar cookie recipes this year - one with shortening (this one) and one with butter. This one won out over the butter recipe. They rolled out nicely and the taste was great! I cut all of them out with the Wilton Snowflake cutter as pictured and decorated half with blue/white icing and the other half with red icing and gold dragee to look like poinsettias. Were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrhode4741
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
My dad has owned and run a made from scratch bakery for almost 30 years and he swears by the butter flavored crisco for at home baking. These cookies are always a big hit and the frosting is awesome too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I am sugar cookie challenged. I am more of a bread baker than pie or roll out cookie baker, and some tips for using this recipe - it rolls out perfectly!! BUT only if you don't apply too much pressure. Making these is cake compared to rolling out a thick bread dough. Very little pressure is all it takes and it pulls perfectly as long as you're on a floured surface. If you're having trouble rolling this, relax and don't roll so hard, if you have a heavy rolling pin, just setting the pin on the dough is enough. These cookies are packed with flavor, are soft and so yummy! They do expand more than you might think so be sure to give them their due spacing while baking. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Change Vanilla Extract in cookie and icing to Almond Extract - superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Wonderful,they roll out so easy.They bake perfect and soft,they taste great!I have found my all time Christmas cookie recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer
Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
These cookies were excellant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This is a pretty good sugar cookie recipe, not my favorite though. I did give up using shortening in my baking year ago, so when I make this or any baked good calling for Crisco, I substitute butter or good baking margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
For the icing, use the regular white shortening, and change the "1 1/2 tsp vanilla" to 1 tsp clear vanilla and 1/2 tsp clear butter flavoring. (I add just a pinch of salt, too, to neutralize the "sweet" just a touch.) You will have truer colors and the flavor is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This is an awesome recipe and so easy. I've used this recipe for holiday cut-out cookies for years. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States