Classic Spanish Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I've made this recipe for a summer party the last couple of years. I double the recipe, use blackberry merlot and then use berries for my fruit -- strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries. I also split up the 1 1/2 cups of rum -- usually 1/2 cup of Captain's Spiced, 1/2 Pineapple, 1/4 triple sec, 1/4 cointreau. Leave out the sugar. Powerful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRABRI89
Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
instead of 1.5 cups of rum i only used 1/2 cup of brandy per batch. i also did half a lemon and half a lime instead of a full one. i let the orange, lemon and lime "cook" in the brandy/sugar mixture for a day then added a diced up apple and let that "cook" for 12 hours and then added the wine. that "cooked" for another 12 hours and then in the morning of the party i added the oj. enjoy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington Station, New York, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
A great summer alternative to beer for poolside cocktails! I use blackberry wine and Captain Morgan's spiced rum. I've had several friends tell me it's the best sangria they've ever tasted :) You might want to double this recipe--use a 1.5 liter bottle of wine and the entire 5th of Captain Morgans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I've tried many of the sangria recipes on this site, and I have to say, this is by far the best red sangria recipe I've tried from ANY recipe site. So many of the reviews suggested reducing the rum by half and starting there (adding more if desired) so I did make that change, and I'm glad I did. I will also add a little less sugar next time (I think a quarter cup would be fine), but wow, this is fabulous!! Since the changes I made were purely my personal preference, I still feel this is a 5-star recipe, and I plan to use this as my go-to sangria recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
The only change I made was since I did not have dry wine only semi-sweet I cut back a little on the surgar. It was very good and looked beautiful in the pitcher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Easy and delicious! I only used about half the amount of rum, and for the wine I found a merlot/zinfandel blend which I thought worked out just fine. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
drink with caution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I've made this several times, always with rave reviews and requests for the recipe. My favorite is using Parrot Bay Pineapple rum and Manischewitz Blackberry wine. Soooo good. In addition to a lemon, lime and orange, I add sliced pineapple and sometime strawberries. Making some this weekend. Can't wait to sit on my patio sipping a glass and enjoying the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Cheap wine redemption! I used white grape peach flavoring instead of citrus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barbara
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
we made this for the office staff party and forgot the orange juice (!) - noone noticed and everyone loved it...i wonder why... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbara

Displaying results 41-50 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States