Classic Spanish Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
OMG!!!! This is one kick Sangria. It sneaks up on you, be very careful! The first time I made it I used the Captain Morgan Spiced Rum and Triple Sec. It was so smooth. I used the Blackberry Merlot and it was wonderful. I used orange, lemon and lime slices. Definately a KEEPER!!! I made it the same way the next time and warned everyone to pace yourself. Look no further this is the one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made this for our dinner guest last night, had lots of fresh Florida oranges, lemons and strawberries. I used fresh squeezed orange juice. The best part about Sangria is when the drink is gone you can still eat the fruit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I've served this at a couple of parties now and it's a huge hit - even with the guys! I use spiced rum and an inexpensive chillable red wine, and the flavor is wonderful. If you leave the rum-soaked fruit in the pitcher, you can keep adding red wine all evening without compromising the flavor. I like to serve it with ice and extra fruit in the glass. Watch out though - a couple of full glasses tend to knock your socks off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Read some say that the rum was too strong for the flavor, so with that advice I put in half as much rum as called for, with the idea if it needed more I could always add more. Still with half the recommended amount of rum, it seems to strong. I think I am going to move onto another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
There are many ways to make sangria, but I wanted a basic "jumping off" recipe for sangria I could customize. I doubled the recipe to take to a party where most of the attendees usually drink beer. The recipe worked very well and was completely gone by the end of the evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandynork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Very easy! The only thing I changed was to add one pear, as the writer suggested. So much flavor for so little work and my friends raved! I used Cruzan rum and Rex Goliath Free Range Red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was a tasty, easy-to-make sangria. I cut the rum in half and added cherries. My main qualm is that what makes the sangria taste good--the citrus fruit--is annoying once you go to drink it. Do you strain the slices? Do you eat them? Eating them makes a mess. Next time, I think I'll make this sangria the same way, but before serving it to guests I'll strain out the citrus slices and throw in only edible fruits, like pineapple, apple, or cherries. I don't know how that will affect the taste, but the experience might improve?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was my first sangria making experience, and I'm glad I followed this recipe. I used spiced rum and Cab Sav. I messed up and added the wine and OJ with the booze and fruit (which turned out fine), and I let everything soak for 24 hours. This was less popular at my party than the White Peach Sangria also found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great recipe. But, I got fruit loopy! Next time I will stick to basic recipe. Too much fruit soaked up the liquid. But it looked pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRoss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I've made this recipe for a summer party the last couple of years. I double the recipe, use blackberry merlot and then use berries for my fruit -- strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries. I also split up the 1 1/2 cups of rum -- usually 1/2 cup of Captain's Spiced, 1/2 Pineapple, 1/4 triple sec, 1/4 cointreau. Leave out the sugar. Powerful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRABRI89
Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States