Classic Spanish Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This drink is so good although I put it in a glass bowl with the fruit floating but also had garnished my wine glasses with fruit as well and i let my friends pour their own everyone enjoyed this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I found this recipe on here about 5 years ago, and with a couple tweaks for personal taste, I've made it my go to red sangria recipe. To me, sangria is a year round drink, but most like it as a summer beverage. I love it with rum, like this recipe calls for, but a neutral spirit like vodka works just as well. I'm from Texas, where we like things either really sweet, or really spicy, so I double the sugar. Aside from that, if you're in a hurry, you can really just throw all the ingredients together at once and serve it over ice (which you should do anyway). If you're having a party, go ahead and do yourself a favor and make double the amount. Some people like a splash of 7up to top off their glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Callahan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I've made this a few times for cookouts and get togethers with friends. It is delicious! It goes fast. I suggest to double the recipe for serving friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This was amazing! I used the dark rum and a dry (for me) red, "Red Fox" from Goose Watch. I did cut the rum down to 1 cup. It was great the first day, absolutely amazing the second! Though I have to admit there wasn't much left for day two. Letting the fruit soak really made a difference. Definitely keeping this recipe around. Great for parties, special occasions, just for fun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
When I first read about rum in sangria, I thought no way! But I did it with CM Spiced Rum, strawberries, raspberries, oranges, pears, pineapple. Soaked it for about a day and a half. Added no sugar, and the wine and OJ. It was a big hit! I will definitely make it again. The only thing is you have to plan in advance. I used to make sangria with only red wine and OJ, plus the fruit and I thought THAT was good! LOL, thanks for a great simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kamsack, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I substitute 1c brandy for rum -and substitute chopped apples for the lemons and limes, I also cut back the sugar alot (apples make it sweeter) we sometimes skip the OJ too let the fruit soak & add a few cloves for a kick. Just my preference reminds me more of what we had in Spain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is hands down the favorite at my parties. But.....it is STRONG! Make sure your friends have lots to eat. I use two-buck chuck from Trader Joes and Bacardi light rum. It is amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Very Tasty! Very strong. Pour it over some ice and enjoy! Thank you for this easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mackle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Delicious! I used berries along with citrus fruits and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I have made this a lot of ways depending on what I have on hand. Always the fruit called for in the basic recipe but sometimes other fruit as well. Strawberries peaches nectarines apples pears ... A lot of times I haven't had the orange juice on hand. I have never used the full amount of sugar before and I usually use only 1 cup of rum. I have added frozen lime or lemon-aid instead of the orange juice. Today I, for the first time after a couple of years of messing with this recipe finally have made this recipe as listed above. Awesomeness ***** . My rating is for the recipe as listed. This could be called Smooth Heroin wine... One glass and your cheeks are warm... Take care and enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 660) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States