Classic Spanish Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I let the fruit soak in the rum and an added 1/2 cup of Triple Sec. I made this with a Merlot (Little Penguin) and with a Blackberry Merlot. It was a lot sneakier when it was made with the Blackberry Merlot, i.e. we got drunk, but it hit us from out of no where. When it was made with the Little Penguin Merlot, it was a little too alcoholic. I solved this by having friends who are alcoholics and don't mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
735 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
I made this for a cookout for my husband's medical school class, and it was a big hit. I used a box of cheap red wine (5 liters for $10.00)and as was suggested, I used spiced rum. I also added lots of other fruit, including apples, pears and cherries, which was really pretty in the glass pitchers. I did have to keep a close eye on the fruit soaking in the rum and sugar that was in the refridgerator, because every time I went to make more sangria, I had to fight off people eating the fruit. I will definitely be using this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
411 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
OH MY!! This was fabulous! I used the spiced rum and along with the citrus I added some plum slices. If you desire a less potent Sangria cut the rum in half. The flavor is still wonderful. Freeze orange juice in ice cube trays and add a cube to each individual serving. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANINE PERKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clayton, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I just got back from Seville and this was so close to the real thing...Two glasses will have you GOOD for the rest of the night. Start out with less rum-- you can always add more later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
This was my first attempt at Sangria. I took the advice of others and used Blackberry Merlot, as well as spiced rum. I topped each serving with Sprite, and it was fantastic! When the Sangria was gone, I filled the pitcher with the remaining Sprite, so it could "soak up" the juices left in the fruit. It was a more "mellow" drink, which was needed after finishing the pitcher of Sangria. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
I read the reviews and went with the Blackberry Merlot and cut the white sugar in half. I made a triple batch, but only used a fifth of Bacardi white rum. I also soaked the fruit for 2 days, turning it twice a day to make sure it all got nice and soaked. Nectarines, Lemons, Limes, Apples, Oranges, Strawberries were what I used. Next time, much more strawberries and maybe 1 lemon and more oranges. I thougt of using Orange flavored rum and cut out all the white sugar, but thought I should just change one thing at a time. Wonderful, the fruit and drink was gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2003
This was very good as well, but I changed the recipe a bit. I used a 1.5 liter bottle of wine, 2 cups of rum, 1 cup of sugar, and 2 cups of OJ. My grandma even went wild over it. I also soaked strawberrys, pineapple, and marschino cherries in equal amounts of OJ and Rum overnight and that was very, very good as well. I did not add the fruit to the sangria, I put it in a seperate bowl so people could pick out what they wanted. It worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This is a fabulous recipe!! I have shared with many friends. It was easy to make, and everyone enjoyed it. Careful though. It tastes like fruit juice, but you feel the effects of the alcohol later. Great to make for large parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
Made a double batch for my husband's 50th birthday party and didn't have a drop left. Used spiced rum and made ice rings from fruit and Sprite (so they wouldn't dilute it). Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
This tasted great! I've never had Sangria but my "Sangria expert" guest said it was perfect. I doubled the recipe for a party of 12 and put it in a punch bowl and it made for a great presentation. Tasted very nice and looked good. Just make sure you stir it whenever you are walking by after mixing all the ingredients to dissolve all the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States