Classic Spanish Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I've never made Sangria before and thought it would be a nice addition to our summer bbq. I used the spiced rum and soaked the fruit overnight. When I went to purchase Blackberry Merlot - based on other recommendations, the clerk at the liquor store said it was a very sweet wine. So - being worried it would be too sweet - I bought a regular Merlot and it was perfect! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I made this for a girls' night in and it was a big hit! I used spiced rum and a merlot. Be careful, the alcohol sneaks up on you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
UPDATE: SOME OF MY GAL PALS AND I VISITED A LOCAL WINERY RECNETLY (TOUR AND DRINKS!). I WAS FINALLY ABLE TO PURCHASE A BOTTLE OF BLACKBERRY WINE!!! I MADE A SECOND BATCH OF SANGRIA WITH SPICED RUM AND A MIXTURE OF RED / GREEN APPLES AND PEARS. WOW! ALTHOUGH MY HUBS PREFERS THIS WITH MERLOT, HE REALLY LIKED THE FRUIT. THAT'S SAYING A LOT SINCE HE PRETTY MUCH HATES ANY AND ALL FRUIT! :) Pretty good! I am not a wine drinker at ALL, but I really enjoyed this (especially with spiced rum)!!! Having said this, I do think this could use a touch more sugar. Had I been able to find the blackberry wine I wanted to use, this might have been sweet enough for my liking (I had to use Merlot instead). Next time I'll be sure to plan ahead so that I can stop at another grocery store to look for it. I will also substitute pears and apples for the citrus fruits since my hubby thinks they would soak up the booze better lol. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Lisa. I can't wait to make this again - and again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I only use a 1/2 cup rum to a liter of wine - this stuff is strong, but delicious. Already bought a case of wine just for sangria. These are just so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I liked the general plan for this, simple and quick. I like my drinks sweet, and even with 'sweet' red wine this was a bit too much for me. I added Sprite directly to my glass, and that made it perfect for me. It is quite potent, though. Not that I'm complaining . . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeChelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I didn't enjoy this very much. The spiced rum overpowered it in my opinion. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Ugh. Bummer. Was looking forward to trying this recipe.... What a disappointment!!! Brought it to an afternoon cocktail party/ bbq. Way, way, way too sweet!? ( i even omitted some sugar). I bartend for a living and was so embarassed. Should have known better! Will not make this recipe again-- sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I made this with the blackberry merlot and spiced rum, oh my, I'm glad I planned to stay home! Very potent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I really loved this Sangria although I made a couple changes to it. I only used 1 cup of rum and I added about 1-2 cups of Sprite as well. I also used more fruit including strawberries, peaches, oranges, maraschino cherries,apple, pear, lemon and extra lime. Also, it's tastes soooooo good with all that fruit, the sugar is just completely unnecessary, so I didn't use any at all. And I soaked the fruit in rum overnight as suggested by others. (And yes, the fruit tastes amazing after soaking, so don't let too many people taste-test it before adding to the sangria!) I also used orange juice ice cubes in the glasses as suggested by someone else. My guests raved about it and it was all gone in no time! As per the recommendation of the staff member at the liquor store I used Jackson Triggs Merlot red wine and it was delicious. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Very festive -- made for a small potluck dinner at my house. Ideal for a spring or summer event - so refreshing! Of course I modified it based on what I had on hand -- I added some sprite and club soda (almost an entire 2 litre bottle's worth) to make a larger amount -- the sugar is necessary at that point. Also added some apricot brandy (about 1/2 cup). I had some leftover limeade made up as well so I added that (about 2 cups -- note: this was NOT substitued for the OJ -- that was added as well.) Guests raved about it and said they wanted the recipe. It did look pretty with the citrus fruit slices in a large glass pitcher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 660) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States