Classic Spanish Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I substitute 1c brandy for rum -and substitute chopped apples for the lemons and limes, I also cut back the sugar alot (apples make it sweeter) we sometimes skip the OJ too let the fruit soak & add a few cloves for a kick. Just my preference reminds me more of what we had in Spain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is hands down the favorite at my parties. But.....it is STRONG! Make sure your friends have lots to eat. I use two-buck chuck from Trader Joes and Bacardi light rum. It is amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Very Tasty! Very strong. Pour it over some ice and enjoy! Thank you for this easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mackle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Delicious! I used berries along with citrus fruits and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I have made this a lot of ways depending on what I have on hand. Always the fruit called for in the basic recipe but sometimes other fruit as well. Strawberries peaches nectarines apples pears ... A lot of times I haven't had the orange juice on hand. I have never used the full amount of sugar before and I usually use only 1 cup of rum. I have added frozen lime or lemon-aid instead of the orange juice. Today I, for the first time after a couple of years of messing with this recipe finally have made this recipe as listed above. Awesomeness ***** . My rating is for the recipe as listed. This could be called Smooth Heroin wine... One glass and your cheeks are warm... Take care and enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Made this for a family gathering at Christmas! Boy was it a hit!! I added Triple Sec and SPICED Rum. Decreased the sugar to 1/4 cup and added pineapple, orange, lemon, apple, cherries and pear. Oh and yes, I added the Misty Arbor Blackberry Merlot. You cannot go wrong with this recipe and I highly reccomend you add the spiced rum. It gives it a dimension you will love, if you really like sangria! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is excellent, and allows for considerable variations to tastes and fruit availability. Highly recommended, and yes it is potent.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this as written except I used only 1 and a quarter cups of rum, and I found even that to be too much rum. I used Bacardi and Trader Joe's merlot. It made a little too much for my pitcher but looked very pretty and was yummy chilled. This was the first sangria I've made and it was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynHG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Double batch, cheap red blend, spiced rum, same citrus fruits plus frozen pineapple and mango chunks - YUM! I've made it before, always a big hit. The one thing I do differently, because I didn't read it wrong the first time, I just put it all in a glass pitcher at once and let it mull 3-4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I used arbor mist blackberry merlot 1.5 liter and mostly doubled the ingredients. Used sailor jerry spiced rum but only about a cup and it was still pretty strong. Also added some triple sec and raspberries. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States