Classic Spanish Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
This was my first attempt at making sangria and it was fantastic. I made minor changes to the recipe: reduced rum and sugar to 1 cup of spiced rum and 1/3 cup sugar. I cut up an apple and a pear and soaked them with the lemon and lime (I forgot to buy oranges so I did not use those). Next time, I might use more rum but would not add any more sugar. Fantastic recipe and everyone who tried it loved it as well. The apples and pears were a great treat to snack on after the sangria was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Too strong and tasted too much like alcohol. Not refreshing at all. Brandy is actually the best and most common hard alcohol to mix with the wine. I use the Sangria! Sangria! recipe with great results every time ~ even for company or parties. I use brandy and a splash of triple sec or OJ and maybe a splash of peach schnapps and allow it to blend and chill for several hours or overnight. I've also used blackberry brandy or ginger brandy for kicks and it comes out great. I prefer to serve it with club soda or ginger ale for those who prefer it sweeter. Save your money, skip this recipe and Google Sangria...you'll find brandy is much more common than rum. Also, add any citrus LAST ~ all fresh citrus turns bitter after a couple hours. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
This was a great recipe for a base. Next time I will do half a cup of oj as The flavor profile changed a little after a few days in the fridge.Too much orange juice gave it a slight grapefruit bitterness.Replaced the rum with a cup of single malt scotch and used blackberry merlot.You wouldn't think these too flavors would work but the scotch makes it smoother and easier to drink.My buddy and I made a batch and drank 1.5 liter mix in a matter of an hour.When it was gone we wanted another batch.Not drunk just relaxed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Pure bona-fide AWESOMENESS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monife Stout

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Fabulous drink! I let the fruit and rum sit for about 5 hours. Very simple to make. Everyone at my party loved it....when it was all gone i made more but it doesn't taste the same when you don't let the fruit and rum sit a while. I will absolutely use this again and try to play up the fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
this recipe was my first attempt at sangria. I just had some at scarlett oharas in st Augustine and it was great. I think she used pinapple juice and simple surup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Skiles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I used a burgundy wine like suggested and the drink was beautiful but no one could stomach the strength! Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ovando

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Harrodsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kissthecook
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I loved this recipe! I used Captain Morgan spiced rum and Arbor Mist Blackberry Merlot. I made one batch with the 1/2 cup of sugar and one batch without it and to be honest- it doesn't need the sugar at all! The wine and orange juice made it sweet enough, but not overboard. This is perfect for a romantic evening or a summer day! Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna S
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This recipe was delicious! I used a blackberry merlot and spiced rum as others suggested. I also added a half cup of triple sec. This was the best sangria recipe that I have tried thus far. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna S

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States