Classic Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I followed the directions exact. I did use two cans of evaporated milk (the reason why I did this is because canned milk has always turned out a better outcome in the crockpot over "fresh" milk--I didn't want to worry about scorched milk and Healthy Choice cream of mushroom soup. Though we ate it, we all thought that the cream of mushroom soup flavor in this soup was off-putting and really didn't seem to belong. I think that ruined this recipe. I'm not much for low ratings as it breaks my heart to do so, but really......for us it wasn't good. I think if it was omitted, it would have a much better outcome. I'm very sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
My husband and I loved this chowder. I did make a few changes. I used 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of chiles, 1 can regular corn instead of frozen, 1 tablespoon hot sauce and a little more that 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder. I also added about 1.5 cups of chedar cheese. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. I also served the chowder in bread bowls. It was YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marielouise125

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I changed a few items. Omitted green chiles because family doesn't like them. Used crm of mushroom and crm of chicken soup because it was what I had on hand. Cooked on high for 4-5 hrs. Onion was still a bit crunchy. Next time I will saute the onion in the butter before mixing and possibly add bacon for additional flavor. Also, I will cook on low for 4-6 hrs so the potatoes don't overcook. The flavor was very good! - lsragan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Amazing, I used Ideal milk and omitted the chilies. Enjoyed by the family so will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This chowder was very good on flavor, however, next time I would cut the heat in half. It makes your lips burn..! I used Tabasco habanero hot so that could have been the issue. Otherwise, it was quick and easy! Would add some celery next time and think that bacon would be better than the ham. Love allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
It is so rare that you get a recipe that says it is spicy and it is actually spicy. This one delivers the spice in spades. I was prepared to be disappointed because so many recipes out there are bland, but I had some Honeybaked Ham left over from Thanksgiving and I thought I would give this a try. It delivered. Even my husband ate it all up. We like spice, so we liked it, but I would have to cut the spice if I were to give it to anyone else. Using the flavored ham from Honeybaked probably saved us from some of the blandness others mentioned. I followed the recipe exactly, cooking it on high for just under four hours. I didn't give it five stars because it took a bit longer to prepare than 15 minutes and the heat was even more than I really wanted. I also would probably use less onion next time (half instead of a whole). All told, I will be making this again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Fantastic! I doubled the potatoes just because I had some left in the bag so might as well throw it in. And I threw in some velveeta because I also had just a little might as well throw it in. Otherwise followed exactly and this chowder is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was soooooooooo good!!! I didn't have any green chiles and only used 1 can cream of mushroom. I added chopped bell peppers and did everything else exactly as written. We loved it! will definitely keep this one handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eimmik Hungy!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Millington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Wow!! Great recipe! I used one can cream of chicken and one of mushroom because i had those on hand. I used 2 cans of evaporated milk because i didn't want to use fresh milk. I used cumin instead of chili powder and omitted the hot sauce. I added diced carrots and 3 slices of pepper jack cheese. I did use only one can of regular corn instead of frozen because i was out of frozen. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Yum!! This was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States