Classic Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I followed the directions exact. I did use two cans of evaporated milk (the reason why I did this is because canned milk has always turned out a better outcome in the crockpot over "fresh" milk--I didn't want to worry about scorched milk and Healthy Choice cream of mushroom soup. Though we ate it, we all thought that the cream of mushroom soup flavor in this soup was off-putting and really didn't seem to belong. I think that ruined this recipe. I'm not much for low ratings as it breaks my heart to do so, but really......for us it wasn't good. I think if it was omitted, it would have a much better outcome. I'm very sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
My husband and I loved this chowder. I did make a few changes. I used 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of chiles, 1 can regular corn instead of frozen, 1 tablespoon hot sauce and a little more that 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder. I also added about 1.5 cups of chedar cheese. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. I also served the chowder in bread bowls. It was YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marielouise125

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Amazing, I used Ideal milk and omitted the chilies. Enjoyed by the family so will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Wow!! Great recipe! I used one can cream of chicken and one of mushroom because i had those on hand. I used 2 cans of evaporated milk because i didn't want to use fresh milk. I used cumin instead of chili powder and omitted the hot sauce. I added diced carrots and 3 slices of pepper jack cheese. I did use only one can of regular corn instead of frozen because i was out of frozen. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I changed a few items. Omitted green chiles because family doesn't like them. Used crm of mushroom and crm of chicken soup because it was what I had on hand. Cooked on high for 4-5 hrs. Onion was still a bit crunchy. Next time I will saute the onion in the butter before mixing and possibly add bacon for additional flavor. Also, I will cook on low for 4-6 hrs so the potatoes don't overcook. The flavor was very good! - lsragan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I loved it! I can't wait to used this recipe and and lots of different items. Carrots, celery, etc... Thanks for the recipe! Oh and by the way. I made it exactly as written. I think it's wrong to change a recipe and then rate it. :( How is that a fair rating?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
It is so rare that you get a recipe that says it is spicy and it is actually spicy. This one delivers the spice in spades. I was prepared to be disappointed because so many recipes out there are bland, but I had some Honeybaked Ham left over from Thanksgiving and I thought I would give this a try. It delivered. Even my husband ate it all up. We like spice, so we liked it, but I would have to cut the spice if I were to give it to anyone else. Using the flavored ham from Honeybaked probably saved us from some of the blandness others mentioned. I followed the recipe exactly, cooking it on high for just under four hours. I didn't give it five stars because it took a bit longer to prepare than 15 minutes and the heat was even more than I really wanted. I also would probably use less onion next time (half instead of a whole). All told, I will be making this again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kkrogh
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I admit I made a couple changes, but this recipe turned out awesome! I only used 1 can green chili's, used 1- 12 oz can evaporated milk and water to make up the rest of the liquid, after reading other reviews, I omitted the hot sauce since my man doesn't like super spicy and I used 5 real potatoes diced up. If I would have had more time I would cook it on low for probably 8 hours since I used regular potatoes but I did it on high for 4 and low for 2 and it tastes awesome! I did add a little velvetta I had in the fridge too. I'm so glad I found this recipe! Lunch this week is going to be tasty! Thanks Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
made it as written, we loved it and added this to our file of favorite soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I thought this was a wonderful soup, truly thick enough to be called a chowder. I used two 12 ounce cans of evaporated milk, as another reviewer suggested, and it did indeed make the chowder very thick. But my husband did not like it - said it was too sweet (perhaps because of the creamed corn).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States