Classic Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kkrogh
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I admit I made a couple changes, but this recipe turned out awesome! I only used 1 can green chili's, used 1- 12 oz can evaporated milk and water to make up the rest of the liquid, after reading other reviews, I omitted the hot sauce since my man doesn't like super spicy and I used 5 real potatoes diced up. If I would have had more time I would cook it on low for probably 8 hours since I used regular potatoes but I did it on high for 4 and low for 2 and it tastes awesome! I did add a little velvetta I had in the fridge too. I'm so glad I found this recipe! Lunch this week is going to be tasty! Thanks Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I loved it! I can't wait to used this recipe and and lots of different items. Carrots, celery, etc... Thanks for the recipe! Oh and by the way. I made it exactly as written. I think it's wrong to change a recipe and then rate it. :( How is that a fair rating?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
made it as written, we loved it and added this to our file of favorite soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Yum!! This was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Wow!! Great recipe! I used one can cream of chicken and one of mushroom because i had those on hand. I used 2 cans of evaporated milk because i didn't want to use fresh milk. I used cumin instead of chili powder and omitted the hot sauce. I added diced carrots and 3 slices of pepper jack cheese. I did use only one can of regular corn instead of frozen because i was out of frozen. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was soooooooooo good!!! I didn't have any green chiles and only used 1 can cream of mushroom. I added chopped bell peppers and did everything else exactly as written. We loved it! will definitely keep this one handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eimmik Hungy!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Millington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Fantastic! I doubled the potatoes just because I had some left in the bag so might as well throw it in. And I threw in some velveeta because I also had just a little might as well throw it in. Otherwise followed exactly and this chowder is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
It is so rare that you get a recipe that says it is spicy and it is actually spicy. This one delivers the spice in spades. I was prepared to be disappointed because so many recipes out there are bland, but I had some Honeybaked Ham left over from Thanksgiving and I thought I would give this a try. It delivered. Even my husband ate it all up. We like spice, so we liked it, but I would have to cut the spice if I were to give it to anyone else. Using the flavored ham from Honeybaked probably saved us from some of the blandness others mentioned. I followed the recipe exactly, cooking it on high for just under four hours. I didn't give it five stars because it took a bit longer to prepare than 15 minutes and the heat was even more than I really wanted. I also would probably use less onion next time (half instead of a whole). All told, I will be making this again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This chowder was very good on flavor, however, next time I would cut the heat in half. It makes your lips burn..! I used Tabasco habanero hot so that could have been the issue. Otherwise, it was quick and easy! Would add some celery next time and think that bacon would be better than the ham. Love allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Amazing, I used Ideal milk and omitted the chilies. Enjoyed by the family so will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlie

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States