Classic Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I actually made a vegetarian version using Tempeh. I only used 3/4 cup ketchup, used yellow pepper and added a bit of chili powder - making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I have made this recipe twice, once with the green peppers and once without. It's better with the peppers. They cook very nicely with ground beef, so you don't get an overpowering pepper taste. I add the salt and pepper to the ground beef while it's cooking to enhance the flavor of the meat. Some reviewers said it tasted too ketchupy. The longer you let it simmer, the more the ketchup will cook. I added about 20 minutes cooking time. I think it will be a good base recipe to customize, but I do like it just the way it is, and so do my teenage boys, one of whom is a very picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this last night, my family loved it. I tweaked it a little by adding green onions (because I had some in the fridge), a little more pepper than called for and instead of a cup and a half of ketchup I used a cup and a quarter and a quarter cup of barbeque sauce. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
It's super simple to make. I am learning how to cook and started with this recipe. Now boyfriend wants it weekly. It seems to be his favorite thing. I tend to put more green peppers in it than asked but I really like green peppers. So it works for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Yummy!!a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I added a tablespoon of regular ol' yellow mustard fir a bit more zing-- this is a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My boyfriend would like me to cook this more often! We were out of Worcestershire sauce so I used my own spices, but it turned out great & I'll deinitely be adding it to our weekly menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
My husband and I loved this recipe. Since I usually have all of these ingredients on hand, it was an easy, quick, and tasty recipe. I will definitely be using it again, especially on nights when I don't feel like cooking too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Way too ketchupy and sweet for me. Will try a new recipe next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcalderon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is my FAVORITE sloppy joe recipe. My sister made them for me once and I loved them! She directed me to the recipe so I could make them for my hungry roommates. These satisfied the most hard working sailors! I made a big batch expecting leftovers but I swear they ate 5 each. If you're cooking for men, be sure to double or triple the recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera Saurus Rex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States