Classic Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This is a nice change from the usual. It's quick, easy and very, very tasty. I followed the recipe to a T, tasting as I went along. I was a little wary of using the whole amount of dijon but it didn't overpower at all. The only change I would make is to use tomato paste instead of the ketchup, as I thought the sweetish tang of the ketchup was a bit much and add a bouillon cube. That's just personal preference, though. All in all, a great meal, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Shepherds pie is actually made from Lamb.....Cottage pie is made with ground Beef. But i like both anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I have friends demanding that I make this recipe for them! I did change it up a bit. I don't include the mustard, just because I didn't have mustard the first time I made it. The tomato juice I sub for pasta sauce. For veggies I put in a can of peaches and cream kernel corn and then I top it off with some parmesan cheese sprinkled over the potatoes. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Finally a shepard's pie recipe with flavor! This recipe is a keeper. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Ann
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I loved this recipe. I was worried the mustard would overpower the flavor, but it all mixed well together. The dish was incredibly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was great! My husband is a meat and potatoes kind of guy, so this was perfect. He loved it. Neither of us had ever tried shepherd's pie before. It's nothing fancy, but was a nice warm, comforting and tasty meal. For dessert: Country Apple Dumplings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This was my first time making Sheperd's Pie. I didn't have the rosemary seasoning so used marjoram, I'm not a big fan of thyme so will definitely not use so much the next time. I also used onion soup mix to give it more flavor. I would recommend tasting your the meat mixture to add more salt and pepper to your suite your taste buds. Other than that it was easy to make and a great comfort food that will keep the the belly full and satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
My family enjoyed this recipe. I had to double for our family size though and so the prep time took me a long time (peeling, cutting/mashing all those potatoes! and onion) and made it not the best choice for a week night meal for us. Also, the mustard taste was really strong. I will do less next time. Will make again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelac36

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was great! Two fussy little boys ate it up. I used Alexia frozen mashed potatoes cooked in the microwave to save time. I didn't have rosemary so I substituted the same amount of dried basil. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States