Classic Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Great recipe! For those "non-Brits", the history behind Shepherd's Pie is that it is a left-over meal prepared from Sunday's Roast Dinner. Combining chunks of the left-over roast, the veggies, and then using the left-over mashed potatoes on top. English food, on the whole, tends to be bland so the spices in this recipe are great! I serve it with beef gravy and yorkshire puddings...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fruitmoney
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
The second time I made this, I layered the corn on top of the meat rather than mixed it in (I used ground pork both times) which was better in my opinion. Also, rather than using tomato juice, which I found a strange ingredient, I used canned tomato sauce and It turned out pretty delicious, my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Yummy! I set aside onion and garlic mix, adding after browning meat to avoid over cooking. Added some browned chicken and apple sausage. Used tomato paste, not ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy Bobby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parkville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was a huge hit with the family. We made it exactly as written and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This recipe, resized for 36 servings, was a great crowd-pleaser at a church supper. Five- and six-year-olds came up to tell me how much they liked it, and it had visible corn and butterbeans! I personally prefer to substitute tomato sauce for ketchup as the sweet taste puts me off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Very easy and quick to put together. Something the whole family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Amazing. This was the first recipe I attempted, and the reviews were smashing! I replaced the ground beef with Boca Crumbles. Awesome vegetarian option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Fantastic! My changes: I omitted rosemary (my husband hates it) but it probably would have been good :) . I did not have white potatoes so I used sweet potatoes. I used a can of tomato sauce instead of tomato juice and omitted the flour. I borrowed another reviewers idea and added cheddar to the top. It was amazing! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
followed recipe to a "t" Dh loved it, youngest kids didn't care for it and teen said it tasted like sloppy joe mix in the meat. not sire if I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Delicious! My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katek2010
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States