Classic Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This was a tasty dish for St. Patty's Day! I cheated and used prepared Bob Evans mashed potatoes, which made this a breeze to put together. Hubs loved this. Next time I might use less (or skip) the dijon, thought it came though a bit too much. Enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great recipe! Easy to substitute various veggies (I don't care for cooked carrots). I used peas and corn. Also made a pie with ground spicy pork- the potato softens the bite. Although, I did have to play around with the potato amounts, but that doesn't change the rating. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poorbachelorguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My Grandson asked me to make him Shepherds Pie, I went on-line and found several recipes, and chose this one. It turned out perfectly and my Grandson LOVED it!!...as for my husband and I, not something I would make very often. It must have been good..I got a thumbs up from my Grandson!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe is amazing! I am not a huge fan of meals that are all mixed in as one but this is so flavorful and hearty, you simply must try it. 5 stars without a doubt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
My boyfriend orders this dish pretty often from the neighborhood Irish Pub and since he had a tooth pulled earlier today, I thought I'd treat him by making it myself. This is the recipe I chose to follow. The *only* change I made was substituting the ground beef for meatloaf mix (ground beef, pork and veal); everything else was true to the recipe. He loved it! He said it's BETTER than the dish at the pub! And that's saying a lot -- he's one HECK of a picky eater! I thought he'd get a bit anxious seeing the ketchup and mustard as ingredients (something he'd define as "weird" in a Shepherd's Pie) but once the dish came out of the oven, he could not stop marveling over how great it smelled. And that was only a prelude to the great taste! I myself had two servings. Great recipe! 10/10, will make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
My family really enjoyed this one. I didn't have tomato juice so I used 8 oz. of tomato sauce and 1/4 cup of water instead. I made it in the morning and it was all ready to put in the oven for dinner. Will make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
my mum loved it and she really does not like any kind of mixed foods but this was a hit with the mixers and those who prefer not to mix, ive 3 times and its gotten devoured every time and will many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by okc foodadict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Way too much Dijon - it overpowered the dish. I tried to compensate by adding more ketchup & Worcestershire. There are much better shepherds pie recipes out there. Keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Loved this! Very flavorful and now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MammaBailey
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Great recipe! For those "non-Brits", the history behind Shepherd's Pie is that it is a left-over meal prepared from Sunday's Roast Dinner. Combining chunks of the left-over roast, the veggies, and then using the left-over mashed potatoes on top. English food, on the whole, tends to be bland so the spices in this recipe are great! I serve it with beef gravy and yorkshire puddings...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States