Classic Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I tried this several months ago, and absolutely loved it! I love spicy, so when I make it either tonight or tomorrow, I plan on trying the horseradish, cayenne pepper and the Dijon mustard. I looking forward to it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebvan52
Home Town: Pioche, Nevada, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Classic Shepherd's Pie Haiku: "(It's really 'cottage.') Shepherd's pie is made with lamb, but this was still great!" Followed the recipe as written, but as I didn't have dried rosemary, I just used 1 1/2 tsp of Italian seasoning in place of both it, and the thyme. Swapped out beef broth for the tomato juice, and used a packet of instant mashed potatoes to make this easy recipe even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I made a few small changes based on what I had on hand. I had no thyme or rosemary, so I used a basil/oregano packet I had. I used about half balsamic vinegar ketchup to give it an extra kick. I have often found that tomato soup in recipes can be too runny, so I used tomato sauce. I also did not have regular Dijon, so I used chipotle mustard. I think I will try it again, sticking to the ingredients to a T, and see how it turns out. I also preferred my veggies, peas and corn, layered on top of the meat mixture. When first done, it was a little runny, not really sticking together like a pie.. but after it sat overnight, it was more solid. The meat mixture itself was great, and I think could be a stand alone recipe for a home made sloppy joe mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candleraymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great recipe...but in order to make it an actual SHEPHERD's pie ... I used lamb instead of beef .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Very good. I changed it a little for what we had on hand and our food allergies. I used beef broth instead of tomato juice, and added a couple of tablespoons of mayo. I also cooked down carrots, celery, onion, and garlic as my veggies and added black eyed peas and corn to make it go further. (LARGE FAMILY!!) We topped ours with cornbread, and it was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I made this for my husband's birthday celebration and my family loved it. I substituted half and half for the milk and added extra garlic to the potatoes. I sprinkled sharp cheddar shreds on top of the potatoes after the casserole finished cooking (about 1/4 cup). Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This was a tasty dish for St. Patty's Day! I cheated and used prepared Bob Evans mashed potatoes, which made this a breeze to put together. Hubs loved this. Next time I might use less (or skip) the dijon, thought it came though a bit too much. Enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great recipe! Easy to substitute various veggies (I don't care for cooked carrots). I used peas and corn. Also made a pie with ground spicy pork- the potato softens the bite. Although, I did have to play around with the potato amounts, but that doesn't change the rating. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poorbachelorguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My Grandson asked me to make him Shepherds Pie, I went on-line and found several recipes, and chose this one. It turned out perfectly and my Grandson LOVED it!!...as for my husband and I, not something I would make very often. It must have been good..I got a thumbs up from my Grandson!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe is amazing! I am not a huge fan of meals that are all mixed in as one but this is so flavorful and hearty, you simply must try it. 5 stars without a doubt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States