Classic Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I made a few small changes based on what I had on hand. I had no thyme or rosemary, so I used a basil/oregano packet I had. I used about half balsamic vinegar ketchup to give it an extra kick. I have often found that tomato soup in recipes can be too runny, so I used tomato sauce. I also did not have regular Dijon, so I used chipotle mustard. I think I will try it again, sticking to the ingredients to a T, and see how it turns out. I also preferred my veggies, peas and corn, layered on top of the meat mixture. When first done, it was a little runny, not really sticking together like a pie.. but after it sat overnight, it was more solid. The meat mixture itself was great, and I think could be a stand alone recipe for a home made sloppy joe mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candleraymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great recipe...but in order to make it an actual SHEPHERD's pie ... I used lamb instead of beef .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Very good. I changed it a little for what we had on hand and our food allergies. I used beef broth instead of tomato juice, and added a couple of tablespoons of mayo. I also cooked down carrots, celery, onion, and garlic as my veggies and added black eyed peas and corn to make it go further. (LARGE FAMILY!!) We topped ours with cornbread, and it was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I made this for my husband's birthday celebration and my family loved it. I substituted half and half for the milk and added extra garlic to the potatoes. I sprinkled sharp cheddar shreds on top of the potatoes after the casserole finished cooking (about 1/4 cup). Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This was a tasty dish for St. Patty's Day! I cheated and used prepared Bob Evans mashed potatoes, which made this a breeze to put together. Hubs loved this. Next time I might use less (or skip) the dijon, thought it came though a bit too much. Enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great recipe! Easy to substitute various veggies (I don't care for cooked carrots). I used peas and corn. Also made a pie with ground spicy pork- the potato softens the bite. Although, I did have to play around with the potato amounts, but that doesn't change the rating. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poorbachelorguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My Grandson asked me to make him Shepherds Pie, I went on-line and found several recipes, and chose this one. It turned out perfectly and my Grandson LOVED it!!...as for my husband and I, not something I would make very often. It must have been good..I got a thumbs up from my Grandson!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe is amazing! I am not a huge fan of meals that are all mixed in as one but this is so flavorful and hearty, you simply must try it. 5 stars without a doubt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
My boyfriend orders this dish pretty often from the neighborhood Irish Pub and since he had a tooth pulled earlier today, I thought I'd treat him by making it myself. This is the recipe I chose to follow. The *only* change I made was substituting the ground beef for meatloaf mix (ground beef, pork and veal); everything else was true to the recipe. He loved it! He said it's BETTER than the dish at the pub! And that's saying a lot -- he's one HECK of a picky eater! I thought he'd get a bit anxious seeing the ketchup and mustard as ingredients (something he'd define as "weird" in a Shepherd's Pie) but once the dish came out of the oven, he could not stop marveling over how great it smelled. And that was only a prelude to the great taste! I myself had two servings. Great recipe! 10/10, will make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
My family really enjoyed this one. I didn't have tomato juice so I used 8 oz. of tomato sauce and 1/4 cup of water instead. I made it in the morning and it was all ready to put in the oven for dinner. Will make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States