Classic Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This is a nice change from the usual. It's quick, easy and very, very tasty. I followed the recipe to a T, tasting as I went along. I was a little wary of using the whole amount of dijon but it didn't overpower at all. The only change I would make is to use tomato paste instead of the ketchup, as I thought the sweetish tang of the ketchup was a bit much and add a bouillon cube. That's just personal preference, though. All in all, a great meal, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I have friends demanding that I make this recipe for them! I did change it up a bit. I don't include the mustard, just because I didn't have mustard the first time I made it. The tomato juice I sub for pasta sauce. For veggies I put in a can of peaches and cream kernel corn and then I top it off with some parmesan cheese sprinkled over the potatoes. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed this meal, as did my wife. I followed the recipe almost to the letter, only substituting frozen corn for the mixed veggies. Also, I didn't mix the corn with the meat, but simply layered it on top before I spooned on the potatoes. Very flavorful mixture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrhodesiii

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Finally a shepard's pie recipe with flavor! This recipe is a keeper. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Shepherds pie is actually made from Lamb.....Cottage pie is made with ground Beef. But i like both anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Just made this for my family and it was DELICIOUS!!! Oh and did I mention easy!! I did use two packets of instant potatoes thought since I am a mother of 2 having to cook fast. Also, I substitued a bay leaf for the rosemary. My little boy keeps saying "Momma good" if that says anything at all. Will definetly pass this recipe on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Delicious! Very different from the regular pub style Shepherd's Pie, but still great! I didn't add thyme or rosemary, but I did add Epicure's Roasted Garlic and Epicure's Beef and Pork seasoning. I also decided to opt out on the ketchup and tomato juice but I used 1 and a half cans of tomato paste instead. I would suggest adding the salt and pepper according to taste as I ended up using much less salt and a lot more pepper (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I loved this recipe. I was worried the mustard would overpower the flavor, but it all mixed well together. The dish was incredibly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I am not a big fan of ketchup but thought I'd give this a try. My husband thought it was tasty, but I had problems with the taste at mealtime and beyond. I think I'll go back to a real classic Shepherd's Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Very good and kid friendly ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S*Archer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States