Classic Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This is a nice change from the usual. It's quick, easy and very, very tasty. I followed the recipe to a T, tasting as I went along. I was a little wary of using the whole amount of dijon but it didn't overpower at all. The only change I would make is to use tomato paste instead of the ketchup, as I thought the sweetish tang of the ketchup was a bit much and add a bouillon cube. That's just personal preference, though. All in all, a great meal, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Shepherds pie is actually made from Lamb.....Cottage pie is made with ground Beef. But i like both anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I have friends demanding that I make this recipe for them! I did change it up a bit. I don't include the mustard, just because I didn't have mustard the first time I made it. The tomato juice I sub for pasta sauce. For veggies I put in a can of peaches and cream kernel corn and then I top it off with some parmesan cheese sprinkled over the potatoes. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Ness

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Finally a shepard's pie recipe with flavor! This recipe is a keeper. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Ann
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I loved this recipe. I was worried the mustard would overpower the flavor, but it all mixed well together. The dish was incredibly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was great! My husband is a meat and potatoes kind of guy, so this was perfect. He loved it. Neither of us had ever tried shepherd's pie before. It's nothing fancy, but was a nice warm, comforting and tasty meal. For dessert: Country Apple Dumplings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This was my first time making Sheperd's Pie. I didn't have the rosemary seasoning so used marjoram, I'm not a big fan of thyme so will definitely not use so much the next time. I also used onion soup mix to give it more flavor. I would recommend tasting your the meat mixture to add more salt and pepper to your suite your taste buds. Other than that it was easy to make and a great comfort food that will keep the the belly full and satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
My family enjoyed this recipe. I had to double for our family size though and so the prep time took me a long time (peeling, cutting/mashing all those potatoes! and onion) and made it not the best choice for a week night meal for us. Also, the mustard taste was really strong. I will do less next time. Will make again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelac36

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was great! Two fussy little boys ate it up. I used Alexia frozen mashed potatoes cooked in the microwave to save time. I didn't have rosemary so I substituted the same amount of dried basil. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States