Classic Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
The best! MUCH better when you make this homemade version. I added the Horseradish and Cayenne Pepper which gave it the perfect, yet not overbearingm zip....Oh, & I used instant pototoes which I didn't think made any difference, they browned up real nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was great! I didn't have tomato juice so I used about 3/4 of a can of tomato soup. The I added 3/4 cup beef broth b/c it seemed too thick. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Just made this for my family and it was DELICIOUS!!! Oh and did I mention easy!! I did use two packets of instant potatoes thought since I am a mother of 2 having to cook fast. Also, I substitued a bay leaf for the rosemary. My little boy keeps saying "Momma good" if that says anything at all. Will definetly pass this recipe on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Loved it! There is nothing I would change about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srreed11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed this meal, as did my wife. I followed the recipe almost to the letter, only substituting frozen corn for the mixed veggies. Also, I didn't mix the corn with the meat, but simply layered it on top before I spooned on the potatoes. Very flavorful mixture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrhodesiii

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was great! Two fussy little boys ate it up. I used Alexia frozen mashed potatoes cooked in the microwave to save time. I didn't have rosemary so I substituted the same amount of dried basil. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
My family enjoyed this recipe. I had to double for our family size though and so the prep time took me a long time (peeling, cutting/mashing all those potatoes! and onion) and made it not the best choice for a week night meal for us. Also, the mustard taste was really strong. I will do less next time. Will make again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelac36

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This was my first time making Sheperd's Pie. I didn't have the rosemary seasoning so used marjoram, I'm not a big fan of thyme so will definitely not use so much the next time. I also used onion soup mix to give it more flavor. I would recommend tasting your the meat mixture to add more salt and pepper to your suite your taste buds. Other than that it was easy to make and a great comfort food that will keep the the belly full and satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was great! My husband is a meat and potatoes kind of guy, so this was perfect. He loved it. Neither of us had ever tried shepherd's pie before. It's nothing fancy, but was a nice warm, comforting and tasty meal. For dessert: Country Apple Dumplings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I loved this recipe. I was worried the mustard would overpower the flavor, but it all mixed well together. The dish was incredibly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States