Classic She Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was our first attempt at making She Crab Soup. We copied the recipe for serving 42 people. We used some tips from a couple of the reviews. We, too, used Chicken Stock, but added Fish Sauce. We used a bit more Sherry. We also used a bit more All Purpose Flour. And, we used the yolks of hard-boiled eggs. It came out as we expected - perfect. Everyone of the family and friends had nothing less than an "EXCELLENT: rating/comment on this dish. Thank you, MARBALET, for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Make sure to use the amount of crab suggested. This makes a nice hearty crab soup. The only thing I did differently was use about 4 to 5 TBS of flour (to make it a little thicker) and I added a couple of sprinkles of Old Bay in the soup. I dd not use the lemon either as I didn't think it would taste good with the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was delicious and my 6-year-old loved it! Living near Dallas, TX, though, crab was really expensive. I think it would still be good with a less expensive fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Very good - my 5 year old even enjoyed it- rich and creamy. Might have been even better if it was thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
As a she crab soup lover who lives in Charleston, SC, this is not anywhere near as good as it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
---fishytaste---not smooth as should be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This soup rocks! Tasted just like our favorite crab soup we eat here at the Jersey Shore!! I did alter the recipe due to what i had on hand..first sauteed about a 1/4 C each of yellow onion, celery, red pepper, and mushroom until they were soft then blended them together into a smooth consistency..followed rest of recipe but I cut in half.. subsituted clam juice mixed with water for the fish stock...and used skim milk and half and half instead to cut the calories. Added extra sherry, also lemon juice, and a bunch of old bay blackening seasoning to your taste..just a touch of cayenne pepper gave it the right spicyness! Omitted the egg because we were out, but i might try them next time. Thanks for this recipe! Now i can eat my favorite soup without the guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
My wife and I made this soup the other night and we both really enjoyed it. Unfortunately she forgot the green onion so we had to use regular white onions and it still turned out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Great soup! Would have liked it to be a little thicker because we served it in a bread bowl, but it was delicious. We added some old bay to make it a little spicy, substituted clam juice for fish stock. We used some egg yolk, but probably should have tried what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
We added Old Bay and a little extra kick. Excellent recipe - quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States