Classic She Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Excellent recipe! I used clam juice, omitted the egg and served with hot sauce and sprinkled old bay on top when in bowls. Everyone loved it, even my brother, who is a very picky eater. I used a hand blender to puree the celery and onion before adding crab meat. If my brother had seen veggies, he would not have tried it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I made this soup exactly as directed & both my husband & I loved it! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
In college I worked as a waitress in a cajun resturant. The chef served a secret recipie she crab soup that was to die for. I have been looking for a recipie comparable to it and I have finally found it!!!! This is sooooooooo good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
My boyfriend and I first had she-crab soup on Hilton Head Island and loved it. This soup tasted exactly like it. It is so quick and easy to make, but don't tell him that. (I did not use the eggs.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
This is definately a creamier soup but very tasty. For those seafood lovers, this is a hit! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Excellent tasting crab soup. I'm from South Carolina and very critical of seafood dishes. Substituted canned lump crab since I didn't have fresh crabs. Used clam juice instead of fish stock as recommended in one of the reviews. Quick to make and very tasty!! Served two with lots of leftovers for another day. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
This was absolutely fabulous!!! The only thing I altered was that I used clam juice instead, and it wasnt quite thick enough and I added some cornstarch. The flavor was out of this world!! Oh, I didnt use the eggs or lemon juice, this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
puree onion and celery - add a little more sherry, and 3/4 the amount of salt. Sift onion and celery prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Really, really good! Made as directed but had to sub clam juice for the fish stock..no problem there! Since real 'she-crab' soup is made with the roe from females which gives the soup a beautiful pale coral color I did add some cayenne to spice it up a bit and add a little color..yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This is wonderful! I did add a little more flour, and some old bay. Didn't have sherry, so I used a Merlot wine instead. The eggs really do add something, so I recommend you try them. Needed a lettle salt also, but it's a great recipe, and very easy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States