Classic She Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
In college I worked as a waitress in a cajun resturant. The chef served a secret recipie she crab soup that was to die for. I have been looking for a recipie comparable to it and I have finally found it!!!! This is sooooooooo good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
My boyfriend and I first had she-crab soup on Hilton Head Island and loved it. This soup tasted exactly like it. It is so quick and easy to make, but don't tell him that. (I did not use the eggs.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
This is definately a creamier soup but very tasty. For those seafood lovers, this is a hit! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
I made this soup for my husband for Valentine's Day. It tasted great! I am a beginner cook, so I didn't know what Fish Stock was, but I found it in an old cook book. Preparing the fish stock is the part that takes the longest. I think next time I will add something else to make it more creamy. The consistancy was a little thin. I didn't add the eggs. Make sure to serve with rolls or bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Very good! I've never had she crab soup before and, now that I have made this recipe, I probably won't ever eat it any where else. It was so yummy. We couldn't find fish stock though, so we used chicken stock and it was fine. Also, we didn't add the Sherry, and only used one cup of cream. I added an extra cup of skim milk to make up for the lack of cream. I definitely recommend eating the soup with the lemon! That made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This is so rich and delicious! The last bite was better than the first. I've been looking for a recipe for this and finally found it. The changes I made were added some parsley, only used one pound of crab meat, and subbed clam juice for fish stock. Also, omitted the sherry and lemon since I didn't have any. I did have to thicken it a little with some corn starch. This soup is definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
This was delicious! I save and freeze shrimp shells, onion skins and celery and carrot scraps so that I'll always have a base for stock. After piling everything into a pot with some water, I cleaned my king crab legs and threw them in as well. I simmered for ninety minutes and then strained. I made my roux, added my stock and used fat free half and half instead of the milk and cream. We loved this Holly and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Excellent tasting crab soup. I'm from South Carolina and very critical of seafood dishes. Substituted canned lump crab since I didn't have fresh crabs. Used clam juice instead of fish stock as recommended in one of the reviews. Quick to make and very tasty!! Served two with lots of leftovers for another day. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
This was absolutely fabulous!!! The only thing I altered was that I used clam juice instead, and it wasnt quite thick enough and I added some cornstarch. The flavor was out of this world!! Oh, I didnt use the eggs or lemon juice, this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
puree onion and celery - add a little more sherry, and 3/4 the amount of salt. Sift onion and celery prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States