Classic She Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This is wonderful! I did add a little more flour, and some old bay. Didn't have sherry, so I used a Merlot wine instead. The eggs really do add something, so I recommend you try them. Needed a lettle salt also, but it's a great recipe, and very easy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Excellent recipe! I used clam juice, omitted the egg and served with hot sauce and sprinkled old bay on top when in bowls. Everyone loved it, even my brother, who is a very picky eater. I used a hand blender to puree the celery and onion before adding crab meat. If my brother had seen veggies, he would not have tried it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Really, really good! Made as directed but had to sub clam juice for the fish stock..no problem there! Since real 'she-crab' soup is made with the roe from females which gives the soup a beautiful pale coral color I did add some cayenne to spice it up a bit and add a little color..yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Good recipe, will try again. Will use real crab next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey R Norman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winsted, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lewisville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
puree onion and celery - add a little more sherry, and 3/4 the amount of salt. Sift onion and celery prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
This was absolutely fabulous!!! The only thing I altered was that I used clam juice instead, and it wasnt quite thick enough and I added some cornstarch. The flavor was out of this world!! Oh, I didnt use the eggs or lemon juice, this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Excellent tasting crab soup. I'm from South Carolina and very critical of seafood dishes. Substituted canned lump crab since I didn't have fresh crabs. Used clam juice instead of fish stock as recommended in one of the reviews. Quick to make and very tasty!! Served two with lots of leftovers for another day. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
This was delicious! I save and freeze shrimp shells, onion skins and celery and carrot scraps so that I'll always have a base for stock. After piling everything into a pot with some water, I cleaned my king crab legs and threw them in as well. I simmered for ninety minutes and then strained. I made my roux, added my stock and used fat free half and half instead of the milk and cream. We loved this Holly and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This is so rich and delicious! The last bite was better than the first. I've been looking for a recipe for this and finally found it. The changes I made were added some parsley, only used one pound of crab meat, and subbed clam juice for fish stock. Also, omitted the sherry and lemon since I didn't have any. I did have to thicken it a little with some corn starch. This soup is definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Very good! I've never had she crab soup before and, now that I have made this recipe, I probably won't ever eat it any where else. It was so yummy. We couldn't find fish stock though, so we used chicken stock and it was fine. Also, we didn't add the Sherry, and only used one cup of cream. I added an extra cup of skim milk to make up for the lack of cream. I definitely recommend eating the soup with the lemon! That made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States