Classic Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
So easy to make! I used homemade vegetable stock versus chicken stock which didn't have any salt added. I also didn't have the saffron. Although it takes a while to cook, it is a truly simple and easy recipe to make. This rice is great with a crockpot chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
WOW!!!!!! So good and real easy to make! I have plenty ideas with this! Thanks so much. I'm thinking of adding veggies with it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian Campbell
Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Margate, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I have made this a couple of times for my family and they love it. It a tasty and easy recipe. I like the fact that I can put this together and put it in the oven and forget it. And freezing the leftovers is even better. Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I generously gave this three stars simply for the fact that I think it has potential. I followed the recipe to a T (did not have the optional saffron so I skipped that). First, it was crunchy--can't stand undercooked rice and its not fun trying to fix that! Second, it was far too salty. If/when I try this one more time, I will definitely cut back on the salt and cook it for a longer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
The PERFECT way to cook rice. I LOVED this dish, as did my guests. It was so easy and fool proof. I doubled the recipe as I was having quite a few guests, and it didn't take any more time (although could have used 2-3 minutes more in the oven maybe). I'm looking forward to the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I don't know what type of ovens some of the people used, but my oven cooked it perfectly, I did cut the recipe in half, 1 cup rice, 1 3/4 cup stock, 1/16 cayenne (don't like overly hot food) everything else the same. Came out perfect, not greasy, not burnt, and not dry. Next time will add green onions on top or mix a veggie in to make it more interesting. But understand this is a basic rice recipe-do what you want with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This recipe was alright. I didn't have any saffron, but next time I would add a few things for flavour like green peppers and other seasonings. I found the rice/liquid ratio to be way off and used only 1.5 cups of rice with 3 cups of chicken stock, it still turned out too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Only changes we made were to use low sodium chicken stock. We used a cast iron pot with it's own lid and it comes out wonderful. We have used this recipe several times now and love it. It's so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This was a solid hit with my shishkabob dinner. I doubled the recipe as I had a party of eight, and it was complimented by everyone here, even my son's picky-eater girlfriend. I did cut up some fresh spring onions as a topping, but that was the only variation I put on the recipe. My wife has told me that this only tested out at about 3 points per serving on Weight Watchers, so I will definitely be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I've made this about four times now, and it is a big hit with my family. I double the recipe and it works great. It's become a family staple. I have found i can make it ahead in the morning, stick it in the fridge and bake it for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Armistead Zyk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States