Classic Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I have been using this recipe for about a year and it comes out perfect every time! I use smoked basmati rice simply because I love the smell and flavor of this particular rice. I make a batch and sometimes I will add leftover chicken pieces prior to baking. Sometimes, using the leftover rice, I will get out my wok, add whatever I have on hand and make chicken fried rice. It works every time and I haven't been disappointed yet. Thanks, Jon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This rice is amazing! I followed the recipe without the addition of saffron because I didn't have any. I can only imagine the saffron would make it even better. Anyway, definitely give it a shot. It is so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is really tasty. I skipped the saffron and omitted the salt. Otherwise, I followed this recipe exactly. Next time I may cut back on the cayenne just a smidge. It took everything I had not to up the broth. 3 cups of liquid for 2 cups of rice goes against everything I know. I stuck with the 3 cups expecting to have to add more and cook longer. I was pleasantly surprised to see that 3 cups was enough. Rice was fluffy and in individual grains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Hands down the go to side for a dinner group when you need rice and don't want to have to cook as guests arrive. Made recipe and a half (3 cups rice) as directed sofetning the onions in the pan and then added the seasonings and broth to that before stirring into jasmine rice (all I had on hand). Didn't really get any kick from the cayenne. Turned out perfect, but will maybe add garlic or seasoned salt next time with some other herbs for extra flavor. Seems very versatile, could probably even add a little tomato sauce and cumin for a spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This always turns out beautiful and delicious. It's so good my boyfriend not only asked me to make it again, he asked me to show him how to make it so he could make it whenever he wanted. I skip the saffron because it's pricey and I never have any, but this rice is still very flavorful without. Love it, love it, love it. We make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I tried this more for method rather than flavor and it scores a big ole 5 in both areas. No saffron in the house so omitted that and omitted the salt. Will add a little salt next time. It was perfect after the 10 minute standing time. Next time I think I'll add a little garlic and jus a small squeeze of lemon juice. You have to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Chef John hits another homerun with this recipe!! One word to describe it:DELICIOUS Read the recipe, watched the video and did exactly as directed (except for the Saffron; I was able to find Saffron at our local grocery but not willing to pay that price for it. Over $11 for a few pinches, no thanks) Anyway, this recipe was so easy! The hardest part was not peeking at it after taking it out of the oven. As bad as I wanted to, I didnt peek becuase I didnt want to take any chances of failing it. When the long 10 min was over, I took off the foil and waah laa! Flakey, tasty and hard to believe I made that! Went delicious with Margarita marinated Swai fish fillets. I even did a presentation test popping it out of a round container to plate it which worked like a charm! It was cooked all of the way, not clumpy at all and perfect amount of moisture to hold the molded shape. P.S. I also sprayed the baking pan with a no-stick cooking spray before putting the rice in it. Rice didnt stick to the backing pan at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Running2PortCharles

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is an AWESOME RECIPE!!! I doubled the recipe and used (Knorr) chicken boullion granules and water instead of the broth. I only needed half the salt. Did not add saffron, and cooked it 45 minutes, plus the 10 minutes rest, covered. I topped the rice with a mushroom, vegetable sauce. I only had the "dollar store foil", so I doubled it....and everyone wanted seconds and thirds! I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This is an excellent recipe that makes perfectly cooked rice. I used half the amount of cayenne, therefore I wished I had increased the amount of chopped onion, but it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Excellent! Tasty and easy. Did not use saffron because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States