Classic Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Wow...this recipe is truly a classic. Easy to prepare but tastes delicious. Made it with white basmati rice and increased the broth to 3-1/2 cups and it was perfect. Thanks Chef John for this awesome dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
YUM!!!! I halved the recipe (except fot the onion) and baked it in an 8x8 baking dish. This came out PERFECT! I didn't have the saffron, so I omitted that. I can't believe the flavor that came out of just those few ingredients...sooo good! I will def be making this delicious rice again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I loved loved the texture of this rice. It was so easy to make too. I sprayed the pan with some PAM and none of it stuck. When I saw the amount of salt and the cayenne, I was a little worried. It was a tad too salty for me and there was a kickback from the cayenne. I made it a second time and cut the salt back to 1 tsp. and the cayenne by half. That time I got the cayenne amount right, but still working on the salt amount. I will have to keep working on the right salt amount. Though, thanks Chef John for teaching me a new method to cook rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I was impressed with the flavor of this rice. Following the advice of a few people reviewing this recipe I also adjusted the amount of salt (and omitted the cayenne pepper since I don't like spiciness). This dish will become part of our menu. Kids LOVED it and boy are they picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Excellent dish. At the suggestion of other viewers, I cut out the salt. I used Knorr chicken stock and it was delicious. My husband and children also loved it (which is rare for the children)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
My wife is not one for rice, but she absolutely loved this recipe! She even went for seconds. Great recipe! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
My family loved this recipe! They could not get enough and all went back for seconds. I am pretty sure they would have licked the dish clean if they could. This recipe was so easy with very rewarding results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
YUM! Kids loved it and so did my husband. Thank you for a new "go-to" rice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I can never cook long grain rice without it sticking at the bottom of the pot, even if I'm very careful not to put the heat too high. This recipe makes very delicious rice, that's cooked to perfection. Very easy, very tasty, with a touch of pizazz! Made it a few times, and will certainly keep on doing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GabZ1985

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Wow! I didn't even know it was possible to cook rice this way. It came out perfect. I mixed green beans and shrimp into it for a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helpmecook82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States