Classic Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly (except omitted the saffron) and had no problems whatsoever. No more Rice-A-Roni for us! I am eager to experiment with other flavor profiles. I find it very annoying that the review tagged as the "Most Helpful Critical Review" didn't even bother to make the recipe as written. But used the stove-top method. I for one, welcome a good rice recipe that will free up stove space. It widens my options for dinner. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennygurl
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Followed this recipe adcurately and it was not only tasteless, it was not completely cooked. The rice was crunchy. Entire family gave it a thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Next time I will add more seasoning but it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I have been making rice this way for years and highly recommend it. The nice thing about this recipe (in addition to its excellent taste) is that it is very forgiving. It can stand for as long as 20-30 minutes out of the oven and still be warm if you keep it covered. In addition, you also free up a burner on your stove. Once you try this method, you may never go back to the old way. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Never cooked rice in oven before and it turned out AMAZING. I have little kids at home, so only thing I might do different is cut the cayenne in half. Personally, I loved it and will have this a go to side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Coming from a culture that loves its pilaf, I might add that the recipe can also be applied to make a pea-pilaf, by adding peas to the fried onion, and letting them fry for about 2-3 minutes, depending on how much you want to cut the sweetness of peas. We usually don't use saffron. Variations can also be made by frying the onions with diced carrot or sliced almonds, etc. For an even more aromatic dish, you can add whole spices like cinnamon, black peppercorns, cloves and cumin seeds with the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Very easy and very tasty. I used brown rice because that's what I had and vegetable stock to keep it vegetarian, but that was the only change. It got complements and every bite was gone at the end of the meal. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I am so impressed with how this turned out. It was perfect! I left off the saffron. I also used low sodium chicken broth. After taking it out of the oven, I also ended up leaving it sit for about 30 minutes instead of just 10 (because we weren't ready to eat yet). When I took off the foil, the rice was still hot and it fluffed just like it did in the video. I saw several people at dinner going back for seconds of this rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
My family loves this rice, it is now a staple in this house. Perfect every time. Who needs a rice cooker? ;) making it tomorrow night in fact...AGAIN. Thanks Chef John «Left out saffron»
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
No more sticky or hard rice! Delicious; the kids love it. I find the rice a little "greasy" so will try halving the oil and butter next time. A nice basic recipe that's easy to change-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States