Classic Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
My family and I love this rice! The flavor and texture are outstanding. It does require a few extra pots, but is well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I hate cooking long grain rice, but this was magical. I read a review that says all of these steps were unnecessary. Well, she said so herself, she didn't try it. How can she rate it fairly then? To me, it was a lot less stress. I did change up the recipe due to what I had on hand. I used a bag of frozen onions and bell peppers, then I added some peas and carrots. I didn't have the saffron, but I did use the cayenne and used kosher salt. It was fabulous and a huge hit with the family! Sometimes taking a little more time and effort yields far better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I will use less olive oil next time - overall good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
So easy to make! I used homemade vegetable stock versus chicken stock which didn't have any salt added. I also didn't have the saffron. Although it takes a while to cook, it is a truly simple and easy recipe to make. This rice is great with a crockpot chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
WOW!!!!!! So good and real easy to make! I have plenty ideas with this! Thanks so much. I'm thinking of adding veggies with it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian Campbell
Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Margate, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I have made this a couple of times for my family and they love it. It a tasty and easy recipe. I like the fact that I can put this together and put it in the oven and forget it. And freezing the leftovers is even better. Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I generously gave this three stars simply for the fact that I think it has potential. I followed the recipe to a T (did not have the optional saffron so I skipped that). First, it was crunchy--can't stand undercooked rice and its not fun trying to fix that! Second, it was far too salty. If/when I try this one more time, I will definitely cut back on the salt and cook it for a longer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
The PERFECT way to cook rice. I LOVED this dish, as did my guests. It was so easy and fool proof. I doubled the recipe as I was having quite a few guests, and it didn't take any more time (although could have used 2-3 minutes more in the oven maybe). I'm looking forward to the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
My oven cooked it perfectly, I did cut the recipe in half, 1 cup rice, 1 3/4 cup stock, 1/16 cayenne (don't like overly hot food) everything else the same. Came out perfect, not greasy, not burnt, and not dry. Next time will add green onions on top or mix a veggie in to make it more interesting. But understand this is a basic rice recipe-do what you want with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This recipe was alright. I didn't have any saffron, but next time I would add a few things for flavour like green peppers and other seasonings. I found the rice/liquid ratio to be way off and used only 1.5 cups of rice with 3 cups of chicken stock, it still turned out too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States