Classic Restaurant Caesar Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
It was good but it definitely needs more anchovies, garlic, & some hot sauce. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
These are the exact ingredients we used when we made table side caesars in an upscale restaurant that I worked at years ago. The secret to a good thick dressing is to very very slowly drizzle the oil in while whisking constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Traditionally, I learned how to make this from a master chef and we have always added 1 tbsp. of capers...always improves the overall taste. I also coddle an egg for 1 minute before adding the whole egg, making the dressing much creamier and thicker! a pestle works well to crush the garlic, anchovies and capers together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This tasted like a vinaigrette dressing and was watery when pouring. Also, it doesn't need any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel Krestinski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I did not care for this recipe, I think it was the red wine vinegar that made it taste so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I can't imagine a ceasar salad without fresh, course ground black pepper! I also worked at a fancy restaurant and we back waiters always assembled the salad at the table-and theatrics COUNTED! Kitchen prep was crushing garlic cloves and steeping them in EVOO for at least an hour and mixing anchovy paste with the juice of fresh lemons- this makes the anchovies taste more "nutty" and less "fishy" and the salt in the paste takes the acidic "edge" off of the lemon. We washed and seperated the romaine leaves and let them dry completely. The croutons were buttered and sprinkled with an italian spice blend and were always oven fresh and hot at assembly. We always began our presentation by rubbing the entire inside of the WOODEN bowl with a split clove of garlic. We then added the oil/garlic to the bowl, broke and seperated an egg yolk (discard the sac) into the oil. We then gently placed the lemon juice/anchovy in the bowl (beside the oil, being careful not to blend the two) and broke another egg yolk into it , whisking it. The romaine was then torn into the bowl and the whole lightly tossed, trying hard to maintain flavor seperation. Then we added finely crumbled bleu cheese and hot croutons and the salad was tossed once more, immediately plated and served with us grating the parmesan and grinding the pepper for the diner(s). We NEVER added salt to this salad. A dry white wine was usually served with this salad, but a rose' goes well with it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I wanted a classic Caesar salad, and this recipe didn't disappoint. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
It is way too tart. I agree with some of the reviews and the coddled egg (I never have use raw) really make a difference.\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Awesome. I didn't have the red wine vinegar handy but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lesiku

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
this dressing is DELICIOUS!!!! It is so flavorful & authentic. I swapped the raw egg for a scant tablespoon of mayo. When you add the olive oil, it emulsified so beautifully. A definite keeper -- thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States