Classic Restaurant Caesar Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This tasted like a vinaigrette dressing and was watery when pouring. Also, it doesn't need any salt. You'll get more than enough salt from the anchovies, mustard, Worcestershire, and cheese. NO vinegar. Use 3Tbps lemon juice, twice the anchovies, and 1tsp Worcestershire. Caesar salad dressing should never have vinegar in it! Main ingredients in the mustard and Worcestershire are vinegar already! Also, just throw everything in a food processor and whip it good and long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel Krestinski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I did not care for this recipe, I think it was the red wine vinegar that made it taste so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I can't imagine a ceasar salad without fresh, course ground black pepper! I also worked at a fancy restaurant and we back waiters always assembled the salad at the table-and theatrics COUNTED! Kitchen prep was crushing garlic cloves and steeping them in EVOO for at least an hour and mixing anchovy paste with the juice of fresh lemons- this makes the anchovies taste more "nutty" and less "fishy" and the salt in the paste takes the acidic "edge" off of the lemon. We washed and seperated the romaine leaves and let them dry completely. The croutons were buttered and sprinkled with an italian spice blend and were always oven fresh and hot at assembly. We always began our presentation by rubbing the entire inside of the WOODEN bowl with a split clove of garlic. We then added the oil/garlic to the bowl, broke and seperated an egg yolk (discard the sac) into the oil. We then gently placed the lemon juice/anchovy in the bowl (beside the oil, being careful not to blend the two) and broke another egg yolk into it , whisking it. The romaine was then torn into the bowl and the whole lightly tossed, trying hard to maintain flavor seperation. Then we added finely crumbled bleu cheese and hot croutons and the salad was tossed once more, immediately plated and served with us grating the parmesan and grinding the pepper for the diner(s). We NEVER added salt to this salad. A dry white wine was usually served with this salad, but a rose' goes well with it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I wanted a classic Caesar salad, and this recipe didn't disappoint. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
It is way too tart. I agree with some of the reviews and the coddled egg (I never have use raw) really make a difference.\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Awesome. I didn't have the red wine vinegar handy but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lesiku

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
this dressing is DELICIOUS!!!! It is so flavorful & authentic. I swapped the raw egg for a scant tablespoon of mayo. When you add the olive oil, it emulsified so beautifully. A definite keeper -- thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This is absolutely amazing! I used 1tsp anchovy paste instead & tasted so delicious. My husband hates anchovies & didn't want to eat it at first, but he loved it. This is my new caesar salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
easy to wipe up fast taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Fabulous traditional caesar salad, faithful to the original. I can't help but add...It is so frustrating when people review a recipe that they haven't even actually tried. A few small adjustments to a recipe is one thing but when there are Major changes - adding mayonaise and removing vinegar and egg - no problem if that's the dressing you like but its not a classic caesar salad dressing and its certainly not this recipe. Some posters stray so far from the plot it leaves me wondering if they are rating the submitted recipe at 3 stars or are they giving their creation 3 stars?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States